Tag: The Bookshelf Tag

DSC_0344

Hi there :)

A few days ago, I saw this tag over at Twist in the Taile, and since I’m still sad about the fact that I’ll have to part with my darling shelves soon….well, I just thought I should do the most I can before it’s all over.

I believe this tag was first created on a blog called Ramblings of a Red-head Girl, and you can find that post here. The questions have changed a little bit since then, though, and I decided to mostly go with the ones I saw in Twist in the Taile’s post.

So, let’s have a look at those questions, shall we? :)

Describe your bookshelf and where you got it from.

DSC_0230

This is my oldest shelf (and also my favourite one), and since my mother bought it for me, I’m not sure where it comes from. Sorry.

DSC_0272

Then we have these lovely shelves, all of which my mother’s husband made when my collection became too big for my first shelf. :) So, once again, sorry. ;)

DSC_0322

And last but not least, we have this cute little levitating bookshelf that my friends actually made me. :) You can find similar ones on places like Amazon, though. :)

How do you organize your books?

Here’s the honest truth: I LOVE organizing things.

Seriously, I could take down all my books and organize them again just for fun. Hell, I would probably work at the library for free if they let me.

Another thing that is true? I need order.

So, when I decide how to arrange my books, I first of all have 2 requirements that need to be fulfilled:

1. Books from the same series must be together in the right order

2. Books from the same author must be together

When this is accomplished, I base my organization on first height, and then colour.

Easy peasy :).

What’s the longest book on your shelf?

DSC_0381

With its 1 077 pages, The Complete Sherlock Holmes is my longest book.

What’s the shortest book on your shelf?

DSC_0399

Compared to that, Fairest by Marissa Meyer, my shortest book (220 pages), is basically a teeny tiny baby. :)

Is there a book you received as a birthday gift?

DSC_0458

Quite a few, actually. The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater is one of them.

Is there a book from a friend on your shelf?

DSC_0472

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell. I had already read it, but since I wanted my own copy, my friend decided to give me hers, which she bought in New York. :)

The most expensive book on your shelf?

DSC_0525

I can’t say for certain how much this actually cost, but I think it was somewhere around £35.

The last book you read on your shelf?

DSC_0728

Uprooted by Naomi Novik. :) Great book!

Do you have a complete series?

I sure do. :)

DSC_0533

#1: Harry Potter by J. K. Rowling (Swedish edition)

DSC_0539

#2: Harry Potter by J. K. Rowling (US edition)

DSC_0554

#3: The Wolves of Mercy Falls by Maggie Stiefvater

DSC_0557

#4: The Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini (Swedish edition)

DSC_0563

#5: Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld

DSC_0568

#6: Chaos Walking by Patrick Ness

DSC_0581

#7: Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan

#8: The Heroes of Olympus by Rick Riordan

#9: The Kane Chronicles by Rick Riordan

DSC_0584

#10: The Divergent Trilogy by Veronica Roth

#11: Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier

#12: Bloodlines by Richelle Mead

I do have more complete series, but they’re at my dad’s place.

What’s the newest addition to your shelf?

DSC_0785

This beautiful little bastard. :)

The oldest book on your shelf?

DSC_0620

Once again I’m not entirely sure, but it might be my Swedish edition of Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. :)

What’s a book you’d hate to let out of your sight? (A.K.A. No one is touching it. Ever.)

DSC_0629

There are a lot of books on my shelves that I would hesitate before lending out even to my best friends, but I still do it, even the signed ones. If someone asked to borrow one of my Harry Potter books, though, I’d probably say no. Sentimental value and all that jazz, you know.

Most beat up book?

DSC_0632 DSC_0640

I’m a serious neat-freak when it comes to the physical condition of my books, so not many of them look worse than they did when I bought them.

My copy of Forever Princess by Meg Cabot, though not in awful condition, is therefore probably my most beat-up book. It has grey blotches on the cover after spending some time in my friend’s black bag (we established some book borrowing rules after that), and the pages are sort of starting to come off.

Most pristine book?

DSC_0335

Like I said, most of my books look brand new, but Winger by Andrew Smith is one that hasn’t even been read by anyone. I read a library copy before buying it and none of my friends have borrowed it.

A book that doesn’t belong to you?

DSC_0668

Technically my mother bought this for my brother a long time ago (it’s probably the only book series we’ve both read and liked), but since he’s not much of a reader, I didn’t feel particularly bad stealing it. ;)

A book that is your favourite colour?

DSC_0679

I love this blue colour, especially on books!

DSC_0677

This dark-ish, red colour isn’t so bad, either. ;)

A book that’s been on your shelf the longest and you still haven’t read it?

DSC_0347

 I’m working on it!

Of all the books on your shelf, which was the first you read?

DSC_0722

Okay, funny story, I actually read Eldest by Christopher Paolini before I read Eragon. Reading books in the wrong order is now a huge no no for me.

So why did I do it? Well, I thought − listen to this − I thought that since I had already watched the movie, I didn’t need to read the first book!

Haha!

I was young, okay.

Any signed books?

DSC_0955

DSC_0876

DSC_0907

DSC_0925

DSC_0940

DSC_0979

Yes!

Since I live in Sweden I have never been able to attend a book signing. If you, like me, still want signed books, I highly suggest checking out your favourite author’s FAQ, or follow his or her twitter. Many of them have a certain bookstore where they sign books, especially for pre-order (for example, Maggie Stiefvater always signs the Fountain Bookstore pre-orders). :)

And that was all for this time. :) I hope you’ve enjoyed staring at my books, because I sure did!

10 thoughts on “Tag: The Bookshelf Tag

  1. YOUR BOOKSHELVES ARE SO BEAUTIFUL oh my gosh! <3 Both of those Harry Potter series are so lovely. I'm now feeling the desperate urge to go to the bookshop and buy ALL THE PRETTY BOOKS. :P

  2. You have a signed copy of The Blood of Olympus!!!!!!! That is so amazing!

    Also, I just discovered your blog and it’s really great 🙂

Comment