The Aesthetically Pleasing Book Tag

aestethically pleasing

Prepare yourself for beauty overload.

Yes, it’s time for the Aesthetically Pleasing Book Tag. ;)

This tag was created by Book Syrup on Youtube, and you can find the original video here. :)

1. Best color combo on a book cover

Because You’ll Never Meet Me by Leah Thomas

I’m a big fan of pastel-like colours on book covers, and the blue-ish yellow-combo on Because You’ll Never Meet Me is, in my opinion, super pretty!

It also reminds me of what the sky occasionally looks like through my own window. :)

dsc_02442

2. Best typography/font on a book cover

The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

I have always loved the typography on the books in Marissa Meyer’s The Lunar Chronicles. The style fits so well with the overall fairy tale mood of the story, and it’s definitely part of what first drew me in. :)

dsc_0385-3

3. Best simple cover

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

Best simple cover will always be Eleanor & Park for me.

I mean, it’s basically 80 % white background and a drawing, and I still find it absolutely stunning. It astounds me how it manages to represent the story so well, too.

dsc_0260-2

4. Best endpages

The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

There’s just something about these endpages that really appeals to me, but I’m not entirely sure what.

I guess I just really like deer. Blue, magical deer.

dsc_0427-2

5. Best map

Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld

This is basically just a steampunked up version of Europe, but it’s my favourite.

dsc_0438-3

6. Best naked hardback

Heartless by Marissa Meyer

My most recent purchase, and a gorgeous one at that. I really appreciate it when they put some extra work into the naked hardcover, and I sincerely applaud whoever’s responsible for this. Definitely one of the prettiest naked books I’ve ever seen. :)

You can’t even tell the full extent of the prettiness here, though I did try my best to capture it.

dsc_0341

7. Best back cover

Winger by Andrew Smith

Again, whoever was in charge of this, thank you. This back cover is eye catching, gorgeous, and works really well with the story.

What did I do to deserve this?

dsc_0276-2

8. Best chapter headers

The Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling

I mean…

dsc_0515-2

9. Best illustrations

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J. K. Rowling

Usually I pick Scott Westerfeld’s Leviathan series whenever illustrations are involved, and I still love those a whole lot, but I think we can all agree that the art in The Philosopher’s Stone, as well as The Chamber of Secrets, is mind blowingly beautiful.

Once again, what in the world did I do to deserve all this?!

dsc_0458-2

10. Best spine

Rick Riordan’s books

I’m going to go ahead and pick all Riordan’s books for this one, because the combination is too perfect for words.

The colours of each book are so different from the others, and yet they go so well together. You can also tell the series apart, but it’s obvious they’re all by Riordan.

More, please!

dsc_0287-2

11. Favorite cover on your shelves

Uprooted by Naomi Novik

I think anyone who knows me also knows that I’m obsessed with pretty much all of the books and their covers on my shelves, and picking one favourite is really difficult. However, this edition of Uprooted is basically everything I want in life, and you’ll have to pry it from my dead, cold hands…

dsc_0525-3

And on that note, the Aesthetically Pleasing Book Tag is over. :D I hope you enjoyed it, and naturally, I tag everyone who wants to do it. Have fun! :)

5 thoughts on “The Aesthetically Pleasing Book Tag

  1. I Really enjoyed this post! So many pretty books to look at! I’m a new follower, and blogger, too. You’ve got another follow!

Comment