Defacing My Books

dsc_0583

I have always been the kind of book collector who wants their books in pristine condition. Cracked spines and bent corners give me nightmares, and I would never dream of lending my books out to anyone who doesn’t understand that.

So, how did we end up here?

Well, I guess it’s as easy as…people change. While I still shiver at the thought of subjecting my books to any kind of damage, I’ve been playing with the idea of personalising them somehow for quite a while now. However, it wasn’t until I saw the work of Pink Lemonade Reads that I managed to find the courage and inspiration I needed. You should definitely check her out, because her copy of A Court of Mist and Fury is absolutely gorgeous!

While my attempts aren’t nearly as good, I’m still really pleased with the results considering it’s the first time I’ve ever worked with coloured pencils (not counting when I was a kid). I know, I should probably have practised a bit more beforehand, but this is what happens when I get excited about something. I just can’t wait.

Anyway, I hope you like it (and don’t think I’m insane to have done it). :)

dsc_04242

My first attempt was The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater.

I used coloured pencils (Faber Castell Polychromos), a black fineliner, and a white paint marker, as well as odourless solvent and a fixative.

For the waves, I used this illustration as a reference.

dsc_0562

 

dsc_0598-2

My second victim was The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater.

For this I used coloured pencils, a black fineliner,  odourless solvent and a fixative. :)

The colour scheme I used is kind of inspired by Maggie Stiefvater’s own art, which is amazing. :)

dsc_0608-2

I had a lot of fun making these, and I’m happy I gave it a try. However, I think I want to refine my technique a bit before doing it again. ;)

6 thoughts on “Defacing My Books

  1. Those are stunning and I am so jealous. I wish I had your artistic ability. I could never bring myself to do it only because I know I would mess up. But I would love to have beautiful original copies like yours.

    • Thank you so much, how nice of you to say! :)

      Heh, I totally understand being nervous about messing it up. I tried to tell myself it wouldn’t matter if I did mess up, because it would still be fun to look back at later, you know? :)

Comment

