Tag: Bookshelf Scavenger Hunt

bookshelf scavenger hunt

Today I thought I would do this book tag created by TheLibraryOfSarah. :) I haven’t officially been tagged, and I guess you’re supposed to film yourself doing it, but what the hell ;). It seemed like a fun thing to do, so here I am, doing it.

I took the liberty of adding a few things to the list, but most are from the original video :).

If you didn’t know, the Bookshelf Scavenger Hunt-tag is exactly what it sounds like; a scavenger hunt in your bookshelf. There is a list of things you need to find, and of course, the more you find, the better ;)

So, here’s the list:

  • Find an author’s name or title with the letter Z in it.
  • Find a classic
  • Find a book with a key on it
  • Find something on yourbookshelf that’s not a book
  • Find the oldest book on your shelf (fullblod)
  • Find a book with a girl on the cover
  • Find a book with a boy on the cover
  • Find a book that has an animal in it
  • Find a book with a male protagonist
  • Find a book with only words on it
  • Find a book with illustrations in it
  • Find a book with gold lettering
  • Find a diary (true or false)
  • Find a book written by someone with a common name (like smith)
  • Find a book that has a close up of something on it
  • Find a book on your shelf that takes place in the earliest time period
  • Find a hardcover book without a jacket
  • Find a teal/turquoise colored book
  • Find a book with stars on it
  • Find a non YA book
  • Find the longest book you own
  • Find the shortest book you own
  • Find a book with multiple PoVs
  • Find a shiny book
  • Find a book with flowers on it

Let the hunt begin!

Find an author’s name or title with the letter Z in it.

DSC_0708

How about Hush Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick?

Find a classic

Sadly, I don’t own a single classic :(. I would love to get myself Pride and Prejudice, or some Sherlock Holmes though. Maybe one day..

Update! I now own The Complete Sherlock Holmes :D. Whohoo!

Find a book with a key on it

DSC_0954

That’s a key! I knew it was a good idea to buy this book!

Find something on your bookshelf that’s not a book

DSC_0711

I have a lot of different stuff on my shelves, but this is definitely one of my favourites. I made this blue fellow last year, and oh my, I should start crocheting again :) (man, that felt like a weird sentence).

Find the oldest book on your shelf

DSC_0927

I happen to know that I have tons of old books in the attic (I’m a hoarder), but I can’t reach them. This means that The Black Stallion by Walter Farley is the oldest book on my shelf. This copy was printed 1979, and I got it as a gift from a guy-friends mum when I was younger.

Find a book with a girl on the cover

DSC_0726

It kind of surprised me how few of my books actually have girls on them, considering the fact that I mostly read YA. I do have some, though :). For example Bloodlines by Richelle Mead.

Find a book with a boy on the cover

DSC_0712

Boys on the other hand….I can just to pick and choose ;). Here you have my Swedish copy of Harry Potter and the Philosoher’s Stone by J.K Rowling. God, I really love these covers <3.

Find a book that has an animal in it

DSC_0936

Marley and Me by John Grogan, I would definitely say has an animal in it.

Find a book with a male protagonist

DSC_0745

How about The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness? :) It happens to have a male protagonist called Todd :).

Find a book with only words on it

DSC_0756 - Kopia

Well, this is a hard one. The best I can find is: Forever Princess by Meg Cabot.

Find a book with illustrations in it

DSC_0765

Does this count? Let’s say it does. This is a map of the lovely country Alageisha from Eldest by Christopher Paolini. (It was a real pain to hold up let me tell you)

Find a book with gold lettering

DSC_0771

The Golden Lily by Richelle Mead has some nice, gold letters. Hmm.. you might not see it that well :/

DSC_0782Better? :)

Find a diary (true or false)

DSC_0756 - Kopia

Wouldn’t it be so much fun if The Princess Diaries was true? Sadly, it’s not, though..

Find a book written by someone with a common name (like Smith)

DSC_0957

How about The awakening + The Struggle by L.J. Smith. That’s something like Smith, right?

Find a book that has a close up of something on it

DSC_0792

The Host by Stephenie Meyer has a close up of an alien-eye. Lucky for me :)

Find a book on your shelf that takes place in the earliest time period

DSC_0813

In my lack of classics, I guess Soulless by Gail Carriger is the book on my shelf that takes place in the earliest time period. Since it’s an alternative universe kind of story, I’m not sure what exact time period it’s supposed to be, but the way they dress and behave I would guess the 1900th century. Maybe they even mention it in the book, I don’t quite remember…

Find a hardcover book without a jacket

DSC_0818

Well that was easy. In Sweden we have lots of books that are without dust jackets, but that’s mostly the swedish translations. I prefer to buy my books in English, though, and they do have dust jackets. Woho :D (I like dust jackets)

Anywho, I picked Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater since I hadn’t picked any of them yet.

Find a teal/turquoise colored book

DSC_0756 - Kopia

 Sorry, but I think it’s the best match. I’m not entirely sure what counts as turqoise and what counts as plain blue though…

Find a book with stars on it

DSC_0819

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows <3 (aka the destroyer of all life)

Let’s have a close up of those stars, shall we?

DSC_0833

Teeny, tiny stars, but stars nonetheless ;). Oh, and look! More gold lettering!

Find a non YA book

DSC_0942

correct me if I’m wrong here, but I think The Undomestic Goddess by Sophie Kinsella is an adult book. I did get it from an adult, soo…

Find the longest book you own

I’m not entirely sure about this actually. There are two books in my collection that both are enormous, but in different ways.

Contestant #1:

DSC_0840

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix. This darling happens to be 1001 pages of pure greatness, but it’s not very tall, is it?

Contestant #2

DSC_0850

Inheritance by Christopher Paolini of course. This is what I call a tall book, but then it’s “only” 889 pages long.

So which is the longest? How much more text does it fit on the monster-pages of Inheritance? I don’t know.

I think we have a tie.

Find the shortest book you own

DSC_0862

Easy peasy :). With only 166 pages, The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner is the shortest book I own.

Find a book with multiple PoVs

DSC_0897

Monsters of Men is told from three different PoVs :).

Find a shiny book

DSC_0966

Here you have a very shiny book indeed. Crescendo by Becca Fitzpatrick. I almost picked another, much less shiny book, but then I realised I had this. I tend to repress the fact that I own Hush Hush and Crescendo in different editions….oh, and by the way, they have both been moved to the banished books at my dad’s. It was time.

Find a book with flowers on it

DSC_0903

The last book today :). The Indigo Spell by Richelle Mead. I think you can see the flowers, but let’s do a close up anyway.

DSC_0913

Ooh, it’s golden. I think that’s bonus points ;)

That was all for today :). I hope you enjoyed it, because I sure did. I had so much fun spending time with my books ;), and I would really recommend you to do this yourself :).

Bye!

Comment