Wrap-Up: September

Like a River Glorious (The Gold Seer Trilogy, #2)Sleeping Giants (Themis Files, #1)Waking Gods (Themis Files, #2)

Love & GelatoBildresultat för the summer seaside kitchenAutoboyography

Hunting Prince Dracula (Stalking Jack the Ripper, #2)

Novels: 7
Novellas/short stories: 0
Graphic novels: 0
Non-fiction: 0
Total: 7
Total: 2 762 pages
Completed series: 0
Started series: 1

3 Favourite Covers:

  • Sleeping Giants (and also Waking Gods)
  • Autoboyography
  • Love & Gelato

3 Favourite Books:

  • Waking Gods
  • The Summer Seaside Kitchen
  • Autoboyography

3 Favourite Characters :

  • Kara Resnik (Themis Files)
  • Unnamed interviewer (Themis Files)
  • Vincent Couture (Themis Files)

3 Favourite Relationships (Romantic):

  • Kara Resnik & Vincent Couture (Themis Files)
  • Tanner and Sebastian (Autoboyography)
  • Audrey Rose & Thomas (Hunting Prince Dracula)

3 Favourite Relationships (Platonic):

  • Kara Resnik & Unnamed interviewer (Themis Files)
  • Vincent Couture & Eva Reyes (Themis Files)
  • Flora & her brothers (The Summer Seaside Kitchen)
To Be Brief…

Like a River Glorious (The Gold Seer Trilogy #2): I read the first book in this series last month, and this is, in my opinion, a pretty worthy and solid sequel. I for one enjoyed it quite a bit, and will most likely pick up the conclusion to the trilogy when it comes out next month. 4/5 stars

“Bad men are never all bad, and good men are never all good, and it makes it hard to know up from down.”

Sleeping Giants and Waking Gods (Themis Files #1 and 2): Oh man, I sure loved these two creeptastic (but also kind of hilarious) bastards! Like the fabulous Illuminae Files, this is a Sci-fi trilogy told entirely through files such as interviews and mission reports, but story-wise, that’s pretty much where the similarities end. I mean, did I mention that it has giant robots in it? Giant. Robots. Also a whole lot of snark. And kung pao chicken. Oh, and did I tell you about the fantastic characters? I cried a lot. Should be consumed in audiobook-form. 4.5/5 stars

“Generally speaking, people tend not to question what they’ve been told was true. Scientists are no different; they’ve just been told a lot more things.”

Love & GelatoTo recover from the emotional damage Waking Gods caused me, I needed an adorable contemporary ASAP. Love & Gelato, as I expected, delivered. Lina and Ren, the main couple, were really cute together, and it’s always a huge plus when a book takes place somewhere I’ve never been, but would love to visit (in this case Italy). Among some other smaller issues, I thought the “secret” was a bit too easy to figure out, and I really wish the story had taken place over a longer period of time, but overall I really enjoyed it. 4/5 stars

“No one is good at solitaire unless they cheat.”

The Summer Seaside KitchenMy hunger for carefree contemporaries didn’t quite end with Love & Gelato, though, meaning it was time to bring out the big guns! Enter: The Chick-lit (in lack of a better term). Since I’ve already almost worked my way through the works of Sophie Kinsella (which is usually my go-to in situations like these), I decided to give Jenny Colgan a chance. That ended up being a good decision! The Summer Seaside Kitchen is a lovely and atmospheric little story that takes place on a small, fictional island in Scotland. There’s a lot of focus on family (and food!), which I found refreshing, but yes, there is some romance in it as well. :) I will definitely pick up more of Jenny Colgan’s books in the future! 4/5 stars

“Flora folded her arms and looked as if she was about to withhold cake. Fintan got up and went outside.”

Autoboyography: Wow, I really did read a lot of contemporaries this month.  Autoboyography is a coming-of-age story about family and love, where religion plays a very prominent part. More specifically, religion in combination with homo/bisexuality. It had both cute and serious moments, and while it wasn’t exempt of flaws, I really liked it. I did pull an all-nighter and finished it in one sitting, which generally is a pretty good sign. 4/5 stars

“I don’t particularly relish working, but at odds with this is my other hatred of doing a shitty job at anything.”

Hunting Prince Dracula (Stalking Jack the Ripper #2): Much like when I read the first book in the series last year, I’m feeling kind of torn. I really like the main characters and their fantastic flirty banter, as well as the overall feeling of the book, but the plot itself doesn’t quite manage to capture my interest, and I had to push myself to keep reading at times. Weirdly enough, though, I’m pretty certain I’ll still pick up the next book when it comes out. What can I say, I like those characters. 3.5/5 stars

“How do you know Romanian so well?” I asked. “I was unaware you were fluent in anything other than sarcasm.”

Ah, is there anything better than a month full of good books? (just so you know, the only correct answer to that question is no)
I’m in a great place reading-wise at the moment, and I have a feeling it’ll only keep getting better. Right now I can barely contain my excitement for The Ship of the Dead and All the Crooked Saints! October, come at me!
Comment

