Defacing My Lady Jane

IMG_7156.JPG

Defacing time, folks!

Today’s victim: My Lady Jane!

(Also known as the most hilarious book about Jane Grey currently in existence)

In the past, I’ve mostly concentrated on the exterior of the books. For My Lady Jane, though, I wanted to do something about the interior. More precisely, the chapter headers.

Now, I actually quite liked the original headers, but thought it’d be a bit more fun to fill in some of the letters, as well as add a horse, a ferret, or a kestrel to each chapter. If you’ve read the book, I’m sure you can guess why. :)

In case you didn’t know, there are 30 chapters in this book, and after about a third of that, I started questioning my life choices. At the end of the day, though, I’m very happy I decided to do it, even though some of the drawings didn’t turn out quite like I wanted them to.

But hey, let’s not focus on the failures! Instead, here are a few of my favourites.

Enjoy! :)

In my opinion, this is a fairly easy and cheap way to personalise your books. :) All you really need is a pen of some kind. Just make sure it doesn’t bleed through to the other side before you go to town. I used a gold sharpie, which I thought worked okay, though I wish it’d had a bit finer tip for smaller details.

I guess you can’t have everything.

So, what do you think? :) Got any favourites? In any case, I’m looking forward to doing more stuff like this when I get back to my books at the end of the summer. :)
And as always, I highly encourage you to try “defacing” your own books. I mean, what’s the worst that could happen? ;)

4 thoughts on “Defacing My Lady Jane

  1. This looks so great! I’ve really been wanting to read that book. Great horses! I’ve never been able to quite get the hang of drawing those.

Comment

