Wrap-Up: April

GeekerellaIlluminae (The Illuminae Files, #1)Alex, Approximately

Novels: 3
Novellas/short stories: 0
Graphic novels: 0
Non-fiction: 0
Total: 3
Total: 1 310 pages
Completed series: 0
Started series: 1

Favourite Cover:

  • Illuminae

Favourite Book:

  • Illuminae

3 Favourite Characters :

  • Kady (Illuminae)
  • Ezra (Illuminae)
  • AIDAN (Illuminae)

3 Favourite Relationships (Romantic):

  • Kady & Ezra (Illuminae)
  • Bailey & Porter (Alex, Approximately)
  • Elle & Darien (Geekerella)

3 Favourite Relationships (Platonic):

  • Kady & AIDAN (Illuminae)
  • Ezra & McNulty (Illuminae)
  • Bailey & Grace (Alex, Approximately)
To Be Brief…

Geekerella: Super cute Cinderella retelling filled to the brim with pop culture references. In my opinion it perhaps tried a little bit too hard with all the references and fandom terminology, but still, I do recommend it if you’re looking for a light and fun contemporary. 3.5/5 stars

“She’s like a Dalek with a blacklist. Absolutely relentless.”

IlluminaeI’m not sure what I expected, but holy shit this was a lot darker than thought it’d be. In a good and captivating way, of course. The reading experience overall was so unique, and I loved the characters. Kady’s sarcasm is a fearsome thing to behold, and her and Ezra’s interactions were gold. Highly recommend! 4.5/5 stars

“I am frequently underestimated. I think it’s because I’m short.”

Alex, ApproximatelyListen, I stayed up reading this until 6.30 am when I had a class at 9 am. Why would I do such an idiotic thing, you might wonder. Well, my general mood that night probably played into it a bit, but I’m definitely putting the lion’s share of the blame on the utter adorableness of this book. Like most of the contemporaries I read, it did have a few moments I liked less, but you know, whatever, it was cute.  4/5 stars

“This looks super weird. I’m so in.

 

Sorry for being a few days late, I had to study for an exam all week. This month, I also went to Scotland for five days, and then spent Easter break in my home town. This resulted in me not reading as much as I had planned, but to be honest I’m not even sad about it. I mean, have you seen all the upcoming May releases?!
*Rubs hands in anticipation’
2 thoughts on “Wrap-Up: April

Comment

