Wrap-Up: February

By Your SideUnconventionalThe Hating Game

Scythe (Arc of a Scythe, #1)Nowhere Near You (Because You'll Never Meet Me, #2)

Novels: 5
Novellas/short stories: 0
Graphic novels: 0
Non-fiction: 0
Total: 5
Total: 2 008 pages
Completed series/trilogies/duologies: 0
Started series/trilogies/duologies:  1

3 Favourite Covers:

  • Scythe
  • Nowhere Near You
  • Unconventional

3 Favourite Books:

  • Scythe
  • Nowhere Near You
  • The Hating Game

3 Favourite Characters :

  • Scythe Faraday (Scythe)
  • Ollie (Nowhere Near You)
  • Auburn-Stache (Nowhere Near You)

3 Favourite Relationships (Romantic):

  • Ollie & Moritz (Nowhere Near You)…though I can’t decide if I want them to be friends or romantically involved…and it’s not entirely canon…yet!
  • Scythe Faraday & Scythe Curie (Scythe)
  • Lucy & Joshua (The Hating Game)

3 Favourite Relationships (Platonic):

  • Ollie & Auburn-Stache (Nowhere Near You)
  • Moritz & Fieke (Nowhere Near You)
  • Scythe Faraday & the apprentices (Scythe)
To Be Brief…

By Your SideA cute (though darker than I expected) and enjoyable contemporary, but not my favourite book by Kasie West. Something about the writing and dialogue felt a bit off and awkward in my opinion, and the overall story could have needed a bit more work. 3/5 stars

“Tell me something happy,” I said, turning to face him.

“Did you mistake me for someone else?”

UnconventionalAnother cute and fun contemporary. Interesting setting (conventions) and nice friendships, but a bit cheesy and unrealistic at times. 3.5/5 stars

“Kind of not shit? Can we put that on the cover?”

The Hating Game: An enemies to lovers adult contemporary taking place at a publishing house? Yes please! A bit of a rollercoaster and kind of ridiculous at times, but the chemistry between the main characters is off the roof. Though I found some aspects of their relationship somewhat creepy (they’re quite obsessed with each other), it was mostly adorable, funny, and weird in a good way. 4/5 stars

“[…] I slap my forehead. I can’t belive I’ve been so slow.

“Thanks. I’ve been dying to do that all afternoon,” Joshua says without taking his eyes from his monitor.”

ScytheDepicts a super interesting utopian future where sickness and natural death have been eradicated. Since a world without death will lead to over population, a group of people – scythes – have been burdened with the task of “gleaning” people – the only way to truly die. Refreshingly light on romance and (in my opinion) full of surprises. 4.5/5 stars

“We could have been called reapers,” Goddard said, “but our founders saw fit to call us scythes – because we are the weapons in mankind’s immortal hand.”

Nowhere Near YouA beautiful, endearing, funny, and kind of heartbreaking X-men-ish story told in letters exchanged between two teenage boys – one eyeless, and the other allergic to electricity. This duology (possibly series) is kind of weird and not for everyone, but the first book made it to my top books of 2016-list, so you can probably guess how I feel about it. 4.5/5 stars

“Moritz, I’m not looking for a cure. Really. I can’t imagine being someone who didn’t see the world how I do. Can you imagine if someone tried to hand you some eyeballs? You’d flush them down the toilet. With dignity.”

Another pretty good month, and I have a feeling it’ll only get better. I have a ton of books I’m looking forward too that’ll be released in the upcoming months, and I can’t wait. :D
Comment

