Defacing Chaos Walking

Aaaand I’m back with more defaced books! :D

This time, I want to show you all three books in the Chaos Walking trilogy by Patrick Ness, one of my all time favourite series.

I used silver, gold, and blue metallic gel pens for everything except the red parts on The Knife of Never Letting Go, which was done with acrylic paint. :)

Enjoy!

The Knife of Never Letting Go

Okay, so first we have The Knife of Never Letting Go, which I actually finished last. I’m super happy with how it turned out, and it’s probably my favourite out of the three, though it was a real pain to paint the silhouettes. The black from the background kept seeping through, so I had to do around 5+ layers of paint. It was worth it, though.

On the front, I painted Manchee and wrote “Coward” about a million times around him. Why? Because I love pain.

I used this picture as a reference.

dsc_1118-2

For the back I wanted something a bit nicer, though, so I drew Todd and Viola surrounded  by “Here.” There has to be a balance, you know. ;)

As a reference I used this.

dsc_1143

dsc_0093

dsc_0112

The Ask and The Answer

If you read my last post about defacing books, you’ve already seen this one, but I thought I’d include it here as well.

The Ask and the Answer was the first one I defaced from the trilogy, and now there are things I wish I’d done a bit differently, but I’m still really satisfied with how it looks. :)

dsc_1054

dsc_1066

dsc_1099

dsc_1083

Monsters of Men

Last, but not least, we have this heartbreaker.

For Monsters of Men I pretty much did the same thing on both sides because yay, symmetry, except that I wrote BOOM on the front, and VIOLA on the back.

dsc_0009

dsc_0012

dsc_0053

dsc_0057

And this is what they all look like next to each other:

Pretty darn nice, if I may say so myself. ;)

dsc_0151

dsc_0159

dsc_0186

♦♦♦♦♦♦

I really liked working on these, but I’m so glad they’re finished. I will never look at the words “coward,” “Here,” “ROAR,” “BOOM,” or “VIOLA” the same way ever again.
8 thoughts on “Defacing Chaos Walking

  1. OH this is so beautiful just as always! Lol I’d pay to have someone do that to some of my favorite books! :D

    I’ve never read the Chaos Walking trilogy but I read Ness’ A Monster Calls about a month ago and really enjoyed it so I’m hoping to read more of his books sometime soon!

  2. These are utterly GORGEOUS. I love this trilogy anyway, and your work just elevates the books themselves into a personalized work of art. <3

Comment

