Wrap-Up: January

The Hammer of Thor (Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard, #2)Scrappy Little NobodySoulless: The Manga, Vol. 1 (The Parasol Protectorate Manga)Six of Crows (Six of Crows, #1)Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows, #2)HeartlessP.S. I Like YouThe Rose & the Dagger (The Wrath & the Dawn, #2)When the Moon Was OursPercy Jackson's Greek Heroes

Novels: 8
Novellas/short stories: 0
Graphic novels: 1
Non-fiction: 1
Total: 10
Total: 3 855 pages
Completed series/trilogies/duologies: 2
Started series/trilogies/duologies:  1

3 Favourite Covers:

  • Heartless
  • Six of Crows…and Crooked Kingdom
  • The Hammer of Thor
  • …..When the Moon Was Ours (I’m sorry, but there was too much pretty this month, okay?)

3 Favourite Books:

  • The Hammer of Thor
  • Six of Crows
  • Percy Jackson’s Greek Heroes

3 Favourite Characters :

  • Alex Fierro (The Hammer of Thor)
  • Nina Zenik (Six of Crows)
  • Sam (When the Moon Was Ours)

3 Favourite Relationships (Romantic):

  • Magnus & Alex (The Hammer of Thor)
  • Wylan & Jesper (Six of Crows)
  • Miel & Sam (When the Moon Was Ours)

3 Favourite Relationships (Platonic):

  • The Crow Crew (Six of Crows)
  • Magnus and co (The Hammer of Thor)
  • Catherine & Lemon Tarts (Heartless)
To Be Brief…

The Hammer of ThorIn which Rick Riordan does it again and exactly no one is surprised. Norse mythology, friendship, diversity, and yes you better believe it, a gender fluid trans person. 5/5 stars

Scrappy Little NobodyAn honest and pretty entertaining autobiography that I recommend if you like Anna Kendrick and want to find out more about how she got started. 4/5 stars

Soulless (the graphic novel)A fun read if you’re already a fan of the Parasol Protectorate series. Pretty nice art, though I imagined Alexia with a bit more nose and waist, and to be honest, a little bit less boob. But hey, what you gonna do. 4/5 stars

Six of Crows & Crooked KingdomI can’t believe it took me this long to get to these books, but better late than never, right? A fantastic duology with great characters that you would die for. 5/5 stars

HeartlessStarts out as a cutesy Alice in Wonderland retelling in typical Marissa Meyer fashion, but by the end you’ll want to flip a table no matter how prepared you think you are. 4/5 stars

P. S. I Like YouAh, the obligatory cute contemporary that will fill you with all the good feelings. 4/5 stars

The Rose and the DaggerEven though I enjoyed the first book, I thought I’d lost interest and wasn’t really planning on picking this up. I’m glad I did, though, because while it’s not perfect, it’s still a solid and entertaining ending to the duology. 4/5 stars

When the Moon Was OursA beautiful story recommended to fans of magical realism and The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender. A bit difficult to get into, but worth the effort in my opinion. It also has not only one, but two trans characters! 4/5 stars

Percy Jackson’s Greek HeroesIf you like Rick Riordan’s previous work, you’re 100 % guaranteed to love this one as well. 4.5/5 stars

I’m back and man does it feel good! Did you have a nice start of the year, too? Which is the best book you read? Tell me about it. :)
10 thoughts on “Wrap-Up: January

  1. I actually bought When the Moon Was Ours this month; people also recommend it for lovers of The Night Circus. I didn’t know two of the characters were transsexual, the more you know I guess :) I’m reading Six of Crows at the moment! With The Rose and the Dagger I found the first book a lot more romance-orientated and the second much more action-heavy. Would you agree?

    • Ah, yes I didn’t think of that, but it does have a similar tone as the Night Circus, too :). And yay for Six of Crows! How are you liking it so far? :)
      Yeah, I do agree, though I didn’t think about it while reading. :)

      • I didn’t either but I think I may have reviewed it, so that’s probably when I realised what the difference was; whilst I was reading it I just remember thinking that it felt quite different. I’m at about 40% into Six of Crows and I haven’t read the original Grisha trilogy so I’m trying to spoil myself as little as possible and not put too many pieces together, but I’m really, really enjoying it so far! I definitely get the hype 🤗

        • Yeah, it’s probably Why some people liked the first book, but not the second. :)

          I’ve not read the original trilogy, either, just the first book. 😅 But I managed to love this duology anyway so you probably don’t have to. :) I’m glad you’re enjoying it. 😊

          • Yeah, I researched it- you don’t have to. But I own the first book in the original trilogy so I do want to give it a go although I hear it isn’t quite as good.

          • I personally thought shadow and bone was okay, but not great, and decided not to continue with the trilogy, but I know some people like it so you might enjoy it :)

Comment

