Words.

Words are funny things, don’t you think?

I mean, they can hold and mean so much without taking up any space at all. They can be one thing to one person and something entirely different to another. They can effortlessly convey every and any feeling in the world.

I love the word ‘assassination’ for some reason. Once, I said it at least 50 times in a single day to my friends, just for the sake of it. Do I have a secret wish to assassinate someone? No, certainly not. I pretty much just like the sound of it. I guess there are many different ways and reasons how and why people love words.

Sometimes, I think about how some words generally have more power than others. Love is a pretty good example. I think we can all agree that love is a very powerful word, and some people go their entire lives saying it only once or twice, while others use it every day.

Personally, I don’t have a problem saying the word ‘love’. I love love love my family and friends and so much else. Easy peasy. Something I have trouble saying, though, is the Swedish equivalent. Isn’t that kind of funny? It’s easier for me to express my feelings in English, than in my own language. I guess that the English word ‘love’ just holds less power to me as a Swedish person. That it means something different, even though it technically means the exact same thing.

Why did I write this post? I have no idea. I’m not even certain what I’m trying to say or if there’s a point. The whole thing might sound cheesy, but it’s just something that I’ve been thinking about for a while, and I wanted to write it down. It’s good to do that sometimes, I’ve heard.

Basically, words are great.

2 thoughts on “Words.

Comment

