Reading Update: June

Royal Wedding (The Princess Diaries, #11)More Happy Than NotPersuasion

Half Bad (Half Bad, #1)Half Wild (The Half Bad Trilogy, #2)The Wrath and the Dawn (The Wrath and the Dawn, #1)

Fan Art

Novels: 7
Novellas/short stories: 0 
Graphic novels: 0
Total: 7
Total: 2 524 pages
Finished series/trilogies/duologies: 0
Started series/trilogies/duologies: 2 
Completed challenges: 1 
  • A classic romance – Persuasion

Written in the 19th century by the queen of classic romance, Jane Austen.

3 Favourite Covers:

  • Half Bad
  • The Wrath and the Dawn
  • More Happy Than Not

3 Favourite Books:

  • Half Bad
  • The Wrath and the Dawn
  • More Happy Than Not

3 Favourite Characters :

  • Gabriel (Half Bad)
  • Shahrzad (The Wrath and the Dawn)
  • Nathan (Half Bad) (Except when he’s pining over Annalise)

3 Favourite Relationships (Romantic or not):

  • Nathan & Gabriel (Half Bad)
  • Mia & Michael (The Princess Diaries)
  • Aaron & Thomas (More Happy Than Not)

Between the 6th and 25th of June, I did not read a single word (or well, I did, but not from a book). And you know what? I actually don’t care, nor do I regret it. I had a lot going on in June. I graduated from upper secondary school (high school, I suppose), which means the life I’ve known for over 18 years is soon to be over. I might move to a new city and study at university (if I get in!), or I might stay at home and work. That’s a lot to think about. Also, I just came home from a week in London with my best friends, who I will probably no longer see every day like I’ve done for the greater part of my life, and I definitely didn’t read there.

What I’m trying to say with this little rant, is that reading slumps aren’t always bad, and that there’s rarely a point in trying to rush them along. Yes, for about 20 consecutive days this month, I didn’t feel like reading, and so I didn’t. The world didn’t crumple, I spent my time with other things, and then, when I felt like reading again, I finished four books in six days. C’est la vie. :)

Read only if that’s what you really want to do, and things will turn out okay, you’ll see. :)

What’s your favourite book of the month, and how do you feel about reading slumps? Tell me down in the comments.

Comment

