Books & Music #2

You can find #1 here. :)

Songs that remind me of books:

1. Winter by Nieves

Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater

Well, I feel like it’s pretty obvious why I chose this song (even to those of you who haven’t read the book), but even without the winter theme, I can kind of imagine Sam singing it. Sans the scottish accent, though. ;)

“But you can’t stay warm forever
seasons turn beyond your needs”

Youtube

♦♦♦♦♦♦

2. Things We Lost In the Fire by Bastille

Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta 

There isn’t technically a fire in Finnikin of the Rock, but I still think they fit pretty well together. Finnikin and the gang loses everything and have to start all over again. They have to adapt to a new way of living, and they can never truly go back to how it was before. I think this song conveys that feeling in a nice way.

“Do you understand that we will never be the same again?
Do you understand that we will never be the same again?
The future’s in our hands and we will never be the same again
The future’s in our hands and we will never be the same again”

The lyrics

Youtube

♦♦♦♦♦♦

3. The Mute by Radical Face

Unspoken by Sarah Rees Brennan 

It isn’t a perfect match (and I know it has a more serious meaning), but I can imagine this being told from a young, unhappy Jared’s PoV.

“Well, as a child I mostly spoke inside my head”

“My dad considered me a cross he had to bear
And in my head I’d sing apologies and stare
As my mom would hang the clothes across the line
And she would try to keep the empty… from her eyes”

The lyrics

Youtube

♦♦♦♦♦♦

4. Terrible Things by Brick + Mortar

Fairest by Marissa Meyer

If you’ve read the book, I think you’ll agree with me.

Man, she cray.

“Sometimes I think of doing terrible things
I know I shouldn’t think it but I do anyway, oh oh
Maybe I’m just crazy like I got a disease
Feels like I got things that go deep in my sleep
I’m doing terrible things”

The lyrics

Youtube

♦♦♦♦♦♦

5. Sovereign Light Café by Keane

Two Boys Kissing by David Levithan 

When it comes to these two, it’s got more to do with the general feeling than the actual lyrics, though they also fit in some ways.

When I hear this song I get sort of happy and sad at the same time, and I get this feeling of nostalgia for some reason. To me, it’s a song that tries to remember a different time, and the whole thing makes me think of the narration of this book.

“I’m going back to a time when we owned this town
Down Powdermill lane and the Battle grounds
We were friends and lovers and clueless clowns”

“I didn’t know I was finding out how I’d be torn from you
When we talked about things we were gonna do
We were wide-eyed dreamers and wiser too”

“Well, you got nothing to hide, you can’t change who you really are,
You can get a big house and a faster car
You can run away, boy, but you won’t go far”

The lyrics 

Youtube

♦♦♦♦♦♦

And that was all for this time. I hope you’ve enjoyed it. :)

Comment

