Books & Music #1

So, I’ve seen different versions of this thing around for a while now, and since I really enjoy watching those videos/reading those posts (oh, and the fact that books and music are two of my favourite things), I wanted to  try it myself. :)

It’s all pretty nice and simple, really. I have chosen a couple of songs and paired them up with books (or series) based on either their lyrics, or their sound and general feeling. Or, you know, a combination of both. :) I hope you’ll enjoy it! :)

Songs that remind me of books:

1. Texas by Magic Man

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson 

 The line that initially made me associate these two with each other was: “Remember the night we slept on the roof? I didn’t sleep much to tell the truth” (I know they didn’t really sleep on the roof ubt still). Over time, though, I’ve just found more and more connections, and now I can’t listen to this song without instantly thinking of I’ll Give You the Sun.

And I’m 100 % okay with that.

“It’s been a while, and I’ve been alone
and you’ve been the only thing I’ve known”

“So cover my skin with your sunkissed light
There’s a bonfire burning tonight
We could be all right”

“Remember the night we slept on the roof?
I didn’t sleep much to tell the truth
Now we’re the sand caught in the tide
We laugh until we cry”

“Pull me closer, hold me tighter
The nights are long but the stars are brighter”

The lyrics

Youtube

♦♦♦♦♦♦

2. Goodbye Kiss by Kasabian

− The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater 

In many ways these two don’t fit that well together. Actually, they probably don’t fit together more than they do, but I don’t know, there’s just something about the whole kissing thing that makes me instantly think about The Raven Boys when I listen to the song.

“Doomed from the start
We met with a goodbye kiss”

The lyrics

Youtube

♦♦♦♦♦♦

3. Let’s Dance to Joy Division by The Wombats

The Hero of Ages by Brandon Sanderson 

 This might seem like an odd choice, but there’s just this thing that Elend says at one point. Some might consider it as a spoiler though…

Oh well, either you’ll get it or you won’t.

“Let’s dance to joy division,
And celebrate the irony,
Everything is going wrong,
But we’re so happy,
Let’s dance to joy division,
And raise our glass to the ceiling,
‘Cause this could all go so wrong,
But we’re so happy,
Yeah we’re so happy.”

The lyrics

Youtube

♦♦♦♦♦♦

4. Summer Skeletons by Radical Face

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz 

 Mostly because of the line: “We were sun-burned and shoeless kids”, but other parts as well.

“We were sun-burned and shoeless kids
It was the dead of July
We were skippin’ stones in the failing light
I smelled the fire-place
Although we were miles away
We were infinite”

“Lost out among the trees
Our hands scraped the bark
You still had bloody knees
From your spill in the dark
We were both laughing then
While carving bad words in the wood
We had no need to speak”

“Dirt in our ears, sun in our eyes
Shirts hung in rags, head in the clouds
Our fears had no teeth, hearts were still blind
You barely talked and I didn’t mind”

The lyrics

Youtube

♦♦♦♦♦♦

5. Sorry by The Intermission Project

Openly Straight by Bill Konigsberg 

If you’ve read this book, then you’ll understand why I picked this song.

“Sometimes sorry ain’t enough
But for now, sorry’s all I’ve got all I’ve got
Maybe someday you will see
That I never meant for your heart to bleed
To bleed to bleed to bleed to bleed”

“Words can only go so far my darling
But my deeds will back up everything I say
What’s right and wrong well I am still learning
I just want to prove my love to you
I just want to prove my love to you”

The lyrics 

Youtube

♦♦♦♦♦♦

Well, that was fun :).

I’ll definitely have to do more of these in the future. And by future I really mean soon. ;)

Comment

