Reading Update: January

Ready Player OneThis One SummerUnmade (Lynburn Legacy, #3)

Clockwork Prince (The Infernal Devices, #2)Ways to Live ForeverClockwork Princess (The Infernal Devices, #3)

How to Say Goodbye in RobotWonderAmulet, Vol. 1: The Stonekeeper (Amulet, #1)

The Song of AchillesAmulet, Vol. 2: The Stonekeeper's Curse (Amulet, #2)The Darkest Part of the Forest

All the Bright Places

Novels: 10
Novellas/short stories: 1 (Leave the Window Open by Victoria Schwab doesn’t have a cover)
Graphic Novels: 3
Total: 14
Total: 4481 pages
Finished Series/Trilogies/Duologies: 2
Started Series/Trilogies/Duologies: 1
Completed Challenges: 12
  • A book set in the future – Ready Player One

Admittedly not very far in the future, but in the future all the same ;).

  • A book with a number in the title – This One Summer

One is a number.

  • A book with a one-word title – Unmade

And Unmade is one word.

  • A book you started but never finished (and now picked up again) – Clockwork Prince

I read the three first books in The Mortal Instruments and Clockwork Angel sometime around 2011-2012. I then immediately picked up Clockwork Prince…only to stop about halfway in and then move on to something else. Don’t ask me why because I have no idea.

I’ve finished it now, though. Hooray!

  • A book that made you cry – Ways to Live Forever

Yeah…a story about an 11-year-old kid dying of cancer. I didn’t expect anything less.

  • A book with a love triangle – Clockwork Princess

Not a fan of love triangles. Never been and never will be. This is pretty good, though (still would have prefered it not to have been there to be honest).

  • A book mainly about friendship – How to Say Goodbye in Robot

A very dysfunctional and unhealthily intense friendship, but still a friendship. Don’t expect any romance.

  • A book by an author you’ve never read before – Wonder

I really, really liked this. You have impressed me, R. J. Palacio. nice first impression.

  • A graphic novel – Amulet, Vol 1

I’m trying to get more into graphic novels, and I liked this one. The art is fabulous (the same guy that did the new Harry Potter covers in 2013).

  • A book a friend recommended – The Song of Achilles

We have discussed this book quite a lot, me and her. If you know the original story (The Iliad), you might understand the source of our rage.

  • A book with nonhuman characters – The Darkest Part of the Forest

Faeries, man. Tricky little bastards.

  • A book set in high school – All the Bright Places

Not a high school I would want to go to. In fact, reading about american high schools always reminds me how glad I am never to have gone to an american high school (is it really like in the books? I genuinely want to know).

3 Favourite Covers:

  • The Darkest Part of the Forest
  • Wonder
  • Ready Player One

3 Favourite Books:

  • Ready Player One
  • Wonder
  • The Song of Achilles

3 Favourite Characters :

  • Kami Glass (Unmade)
  • Auggie (Wonder)
  • Kami Glass’s dad, Jon Glass (Unmade)

3 Favourite Relationships (Romantic or not):

  • Patroclus & Achilles (The Song of Achilles)
  • Will & Jem (The Infernal Devices)
  • Kami & Angela (The Lynburn Legacy)

There’s just something about the month of January. I’m not certain what it is, but it sure is good for my reading ;).

This month I’ve read some really lovely books, and I’m super pleased that I’ve finally finished The Infernal Devices (which I started reading in 2012), as well as picked up a couple of books I’ve had on my to-read shelf on goodreads for ages and ages.

Though I didn’t find any new “favourite of all time”-books, the overall average was just above 4 stars, and I’m definitely happy about the books I did read. :)

In 2014, January was my best month and February was my worst. Let’s hope that the second part of that statement won’t be true for this year. ;) But I guess we’ll just have to wait and see. :)

Did you have a good start of 2015? Read anything amazing? Tell me about it down in the comments. :)

Comment

