2015 Reading Challenges

So, 2015 huh?

Oh dear.

Well, no reason to dawdle (no matter how weird that combination of numbers looks to me), let’s just jump straight to it.

First things first…

…the Goodreads challenge

When it comes to the Goodreads challenge, I have a nifty little trick that I’m now going to graciously share with you. You see, at the beginning of the year, I usually set the challenge to 80 or 90 books. That way, I won’t see the incredibly discouraging “you are 10 books behind”-message every time I log in. Then, two or three months before the year is over, I raise it to 100 books, and since I’m so close, I am most likely able to push through without having to suffer all the stress and angst during the rest of the year. I did this in 2013 and 2014, and both of those times I read precisely 100 books, so it totally works (success not 100 % guaranteed).

So, now that I’ve shared my big secret, I’m going to tell you that I’m….not doing that this year. Of course I’m still going to try to read 100 books − that is always my goal − but you see, this will be the year that I *gasp* will graduate from what some of you would call high school (we in Sweden call it “gymnasiet”, and it is quite different, but I’m not going to get into that), meaning that I will, if things go as they should, start university in August. This, if I know myself and life in general, will most likely result in a decrease in reading on my part.

At the moment, my Goodreads challenge is set at 90 books, and as it looks right now, I won’t be changing it, and if I do, it will most likely to lower it. Yup.

But I guess we’ll see.

Other than the Goodreads challenge, I thought I’d try doing…

…this thing:

ccc0001cc6a0b0ae_Love_Sex-2015ReadingChallenge kopiera

You have probably heard of this challenge already, but as you can see, I have changed four of them…basically because they are, or are close to, impossible (or I just don’t like them).

1. Reading a book by a female author is not a challenge. Really, I could close my eyes and pick a random book from my bookshelf, and that book will statistically most likely be by a female author.

2. My mother is not really a reader, and when she does read it’s 99 % thrillers. Since that’s already a challenge and I’m not that into the idea of reading two this year (not a fan of thrillers), I just think it’s best to change it into something else.

3. There are no books I was meant to read in school but didn’t. In fact, in Swedish schools we pretty much don’t have any books that are required reading for all of the students. Of course I can only speak for myself, but we usually get to pick a book on our own. So, instead I thought I’d try to read one of the books I sometimes hear that apparently ALL the kids in the US should have read in school. If you know one that’s actually good, please write so down in the comments. :)

4. I do not think  there is a single book that takes place in my hometown (okay, maybe, but I seriously doubt it). Hm…perhaps I should write one? Oh, but no, I’ll settle for a book that takes place in Sweden.

I actually did something similar to this challenge during 2014, but not very seriously and in private. I don’t plan on making it a big deal now either, but I thought I’d at least share it with you. :) The world won’t end if I don’t manage to do them all (in fact, I’m 99 % certain I won’t), but hopefully it will push me to read some books I wouldn’t otherwise. :)

The only rule I have set up for myself, really, is that I can only tic of one box for each book. For example, I just finished Clockwork Prince, and technically I could say that “a book you started but never finished”, “a book with a love triangle”, “a book set somewhere you’ve always wanted to visit”, “a book a friend recommended”, “a book set in a different country”, “a book with a female author”, and “a book with 500 pages”, now is done. I could basically tic of 7 of the challenges just like that, but what fun would that be?

And these, friends, are the only challenges I will attempt this year, though I will try to actually finish The Fellowship of the Ring like I said I would in 2014.

How are you planning on challenging yourself in 2015? Feel free to tell me about it down in the comments. :)

2 thoughts on “2015 Reading Challenges

  1. Oohh, a good book we US kids read? I’ll name a few I actually read.

    To Kill a Mockingbird
    The Great Gatsby
    Shakespeare anything
    Fahrenheit 451
    Animal Farm
    Outliers

    I don’t know how typical these are to the rest of the country, but these are pretty standard ones. And Outliers could go for nonfiction!

Comment

