Mini Reviews: School For Mystical Beings x2

Hello again :). This time, we’re going to take a look at two books that take place at different schools for mystical beings, which, according to me, never really gets old. ;) There’s just something so incredibly fun about it, you know? :)

And fear not fellow readers! These are both the first in their respective series, so there will be no spoilers for anyone! Yay!

♦♦♦♦♦♦

The Nightmare Affair (The Arkwell Academy, #1)Title: The Nightmare Affair

Author: Mindee Arnett

Published: March 5th 2013

Pages: 367 (Hardcover)

Series: The Arkwell Academy #1

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Sixteen-year-old Dusty Everhart breaks into houses late at night, but not because she’s a criminal. No, she’s a Nightmare.

Literally.

Being the only Nightmare at Arkwell Academy, a boarding school for magickind, and living in the shadow of her mother’s infamy, is hard enough. But when Dusty sneaks into Eli Booker’s house, things get a whole lot more complicated. He’s hot, which means sitting on his chest and invading his dreams couldn’t get much more embarrassing. But it does. Eli is dreaming of a murder.

Then Eli’s dream comes true.

Now Dusty has to follow the clues—both within Eli’s dreams and out of them—to stop the killer before more people turn up dead. And before the killer learns what she’s up to and marks her as the next target.

Review:

This is one of those books where the cover is the main reason why I decided to pick it up. I hadn’t heard many people talk about it or anything, but I saw the cover and BAM, I had to read it. I mean, what can I say, I’m a sucker for silhouettes. ;)

Cover reads don’t always result in happy memories, but this time I’m quite glad that I decided to give it a chance, because it ended up being a really fun read. I loved the idea of nightmares being magical creatures that sit on your chest every night, and it resulted in some hilarious and gloriously awkward situations ;).

I really enjoyed Dusty as a main character (though she made some stupid mistakes), and her voice had a really funny and witty tone to it.

I’ll admit that many things were pretty easy to predict in this book, and it had a classic “Scooby Doo evil guy reveals his very evil plan”- moment at the end, but I mostly just had a nice and good laugh at it.

So yeah, overall it was a very fast and easy book to get through, and while it was a little bit cheesy and obvious, I really liked it. I found the concept amusing, and it had a little bit of a twist to it (I would have loved to go to Arkwell academy). :) It probably won’t win any literary awards, but I’m still looking forward to the next book in the series, The Nightmare Dilemma. :)

4/5 Moustaches

empty-facehappyempty-facehappyempty-facehappyempty-facehappyempty-face

Quotes:

“I would have rolled my eyes, but it wasn’t worth the effort.”

“Just because someone has the power to do something doesn’t mean they will. Sometimes people choose to be good even when they don’t have to.

♦♦♦♦♦♦

Title: Touch of FrostTouch of Frost (Mythos Academy, #1)

Author: Jennifer Estep

Publication Date: August 1st 2011

Pages: 350 (Paperback)

Series: Mythos Academy #1

Synopsis from Goodreads:

My name is Gwen Frost, and I go to Mythos Academy; a school of myths, magic and warrior whiz kids, where even the lowliest geek knows how to chop off somebody’s head with a sword and Logan Quinn, the hottest Spartan guy in school, also happens to be the deadliest. But lately, things have been weird, even for Mythos. First, mean girl Jasmine Ashton was murdered in the Library of Antiquities. Then, someone stole the Bowl of Tears, a magical artifact that can be used to bring about the second Chaos War. You know, death, destruction and lots of other bad, bad things. Freaky stuff like this goes on all the time at Mythos, but I’m determined to find out who killed Jasmine and why; especially since I should have been the one who died…

Review:

“That’s the way things are here at Mythos. People come, people go, and some people die.”

I have been eyeing this book for ages, and finally got a chance to read it this month. :) I have heard loads of people loving it to death, so I had pretty high expectations.

Sadly though, they weren’t exactly met, but let’s start with the good stuff.

First of all, I really liked the main idea of Touch of Frost. I wouldn’t particularly say it’s a new concept, but it had a kind of different twist to it. You see, the students of Mythos Academy aren’t descendants of gods, but of great warriors, like the Amazons or the Spartans. Estep also mixed all different kinds of mythologies — Roman, Greek, Norse etc. — and while it could have ended up messy, it didn’t.

So yeah, to make one thing perfectly clear: I liked the main concept of this book.

But then we have the stuff that bothered me. Hold on tight, this is me venting all my frustration about…

…Gwen.

Oh Gwen. To be honest, girl,  I kind of liked you, but I also sort of hated you from time to time. I disliked the fact that you called your grandma “Grandma Frost”  all the time (how many grandmas do you have so that you need to say her last name?), and that you kept saying “my mother, Grace”, like you thought I had forgotten her name. I hated that you whined so damn much, was so bitter about not being rich, popular and pretty, and that you were so stubborn (and quite stupid, sorry). I mean, you’ve been around magic your whole life, but you wouldn’t believe in mythology even if Loki came and slapped you in the face himself. Seriously. Also, did you really have to repeat every. single. thing one gazillion times? I got you the freaking first time! I’m not stupid. Plus, who in the world thinks to herself. “I looked at him with my violet eyes”?!?

Venting completed.

Okay, it may seem like I absolutely hated this book, but I didn’t. Sure, I was hit by deja vu every other page, it had it’s fair share of unexplainable love, I really disliked the slut shaming, and the outcome was pretty obvious…BUT as a whole it was still a very entertaining book to read. When she wasn’t annoying, Gwen was actually a very fun character, and I really liked Logan. The idea was interesting, and it was a very fast read. I will probably continue on with the series since I think it will only get better.

3/5 Moustaches

empty-facehappyempty-facehappyempty-facehappyempty-faceempty-face

Favourite Quote:

“Yeah, well, this Gypsy girl happens to have a grandma who can curse you so bad that your dick will turn black and fall off, so watch your step, Spartan.”

2 thoughts on “Mini Reviews: School For Mystical Beings x2

Comment

