Mini Reviews: Contemporaries x3

Hey :)

Recently, I have realised something. Namely, I have realised that I read books a lot faster than I review them…and it has become a problem. You see, I don’t want to feel like I can’t start a new book because I have a lot of reviews to write, and I definitely don’t want to feel like this blog is holding me back. Therefore, I have decided to only write longer reviews on a few chosen books.

What about the rest of them then?

Well, I still want to share my opinion, and comment on every book I read, so I thought it would be a good idea to start doing these many-reviews-in-one kind of posts. :) I’m only going to say a few things about each book, but hopefully it will be enough. :)

I hope you’re okay with this! I’m going to try it out for a while and we’ll see how it goes. :)


How My Summer Went Up in Flames Title: How My Summer Went Up in Flames

Author: Jennifer Salvato Doktorski

Publication Date: May 7th 2013

Length: 307 pages (Hardcover)

Synopsis from Goodreads: First she lost her heart. Then she lost her mind. And now she’s on a road trip to win back her ex. This debut novel’s packed with drama and romance! Rosie’s always been impulsive. She didn’t intend to set her cheating ex-boyfriend’s car on fire. And she never thought her attempts to make amends could be considered stalking. So when she’s served with a temporary restraining order on the first day of summer vacation, she’s heartbroken—and furious. To put distance between Rosie and her ex, Rosie’s parents send her on a cross-country road trip with responsible, reliable neighbor Matty and his two friends. Forget freedom of the road, Rosie wants to hitchhike home and win back her ex. But her determination starts to dwindle with each passing mile. Because Rosie’s spark of anger? It may have just ignited a romance with someone new…

Review:

I borrowed this book from my friend a good while ago, planning to read it sort of as a goodbye to summer, but it wasn’t until about two weeks ago I actually picked it up. I had just finished Allegiant and More Than This, and was in desperate need of something fun and light to mend my broken heart. In that, How My Summer Went Up in Flames almost succeeded.

Sure, the story was quick, very light indeed, and kind of funny….but it didn’t make me feel…good. It didn’t leave with that warm, fuzzy feeling I expect to get when I pick up these kinds of books. You know, books like Anna and the French Kiss, Amy and Rogers Epic DetourLola and the Boy Next Door…you see my point?

While I liked Matty and Spencer, I didn’t fall in love with any of the characters. Sure, Rosie was okay and had her funny moments, but most of the time I found her annoying, hotheaded, selfish, self-centered, shallow, whiny, and childish. She didn’t have a problem with calling other girls sluts, and if she hadn’t had a crush on every boy in this book (except her brother, thank the lord), then maybe I would have believed that she had fallen in love with SPOILER. Plus, she totally lost her chance to get me to like her the moment she started talking about “nerds”, and acted like they were incapable of having a life or a girlfriend unless they stopped being nerds.

It may sound like I really disliked this book, but that’s not the case. Overall, I have to say that I liked it, and you can probably read and enjoy it very much. It also wasn’t completely obvious how the book would end, which is always something positive in my opinion.

Still, even though Rosie did grow on me a bit towards the end, it just wasn’t enough to actually make me like her, and I think the relationships could have been developed more smoothly. It had its sweet and funny moments, but it wasn’t enough. I also would have wanted more details of the road trip, since that part of the book felt a bit rushed.

If you want a quick summer-read, I would probably say go for it. If you’re looking for something to remember, then maybe not.

3/5 Moustaches

empty-facehappyempty-facehappyempty-facehappyempty-faceempty-face

Meant to BeTitle: Meant to Be

Author: Lauren Morrill

Publication Date: November 13th 2012

Lenght: 304 pages (Hardcover)

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Meant to be or not meant to be . . . that is the question. 

It’s one thing to fall head over heels into a puddle of hazelnut coffee, and quite another to fall for the—gasp—wrong guy. Straight-A junior Julia may be accident prone, but she’s queen of following rules and being prepared. That’s why she keeps a pencil sharpener in her purse and a pocket Shakespeare in her, well, pocket. And that’s also why she’s chosen Mark Bixford, her childhood crush, as her MTB (“meant to be”). But this spring break, Julia’s rules are about to get defenestrated (SAT word: to be thrown from a window) when she’s partnered with her personal nemesis, class-clown Jason, on a school trip to London. After one wild party, Julia starts receiving romantic texts . . . from an unknown number! Jason promises to help discover the identity of her mysterious new suitor if she agrees to break a few rules along the way. And thus begins a wild goose chase through London, leading Julia closer and closer to the biggest surprise of all: true love. Because sometimes the things you least expect are the most meant to be.

Review:

This, as well, was a bit of a rebound for me after reading Allegiant. I still wanted me some sweet and fun contemporary, and I really did enjoy this one. I could actually kind of relate to Julia, though not entirely, and while Jason was a complete asshat at times, I still liked him. He and Julia had some really fun moments together. :) I loved the part with the graffiti, and every time he embarrassed her, it cracked me up ;) (still, I probably would have punched him in the face to be honest).

There were some things I didn’t like, though, (and this is just my personal taste) and one was that it was a bit too much drama. So many misunderstandings, arguments, yelling, don’t-talk-to-me-again, and so on. I found it a bit tiresome after a while. I also wasn’t a big fan of the whole MTB-business, which is kind of funny since that’s what the book is actually about, but I just wanted to shake her and tell her to drop it already. Julia was also surprisingly mean.

So yeah.

Meant to Be was a really cute, fast book (I think I finished it in one night), and I think it was put together very cleverly. Though I managed to guess most of it beforehand, I have to say this book had some really big twists, and that’s never a bad thing. :)

Plus, it made me want to listen to The Beatles ;).

Great summer-read if that’s what you’re looking for. :)

3.5/5 Moustaches

empty-facehappyempty-facehappyempty-facehappyempty-facehappyhalfempty-face

Perfect Chemistry (Perfect Chemistry, #1)Title: Perfect Chemistry

Author: Simone Elkeles

Publication Date: December 23rd 2008

Length: 357 pages (Hardcover)

Series: Perfect Chemistry #1

Synopsis from Goodreads: When Brittany Ellis walks into chemistry class on the first day of senior year, she has no clue that her carefully created ‘perfect’ life is about to unravel before her eyes. She’s forced to be lab partners with Alex Fuentes, a gang member from the other side of town, and he is about to threaten everything she’s worked so hard for: her flawless reputation, her relationship with her boyfriend, and the secret that her home life is anything but perfect.  Alex is a bad boy and he knows it. So when he makes a bet with his friends to lure Brittany into his life, he thinks nothing of it. But soon Alex realizes Brittany is a real person with real problems, and suddenly the bet he made in arrogance turns into something much more. In a passionate story about looking beneath the surface, Simone Elkeles breaks through the stereotypes and barriers that threaten to keep Brittany and Alex apart.

Review: 

You can not believe the number of times I have added and removed this book from my TBR-shelf on Goodreads.

Many times.

Well, as you can see, I, once and for all, decided to give it a try.

Sadly, though, I did not find it as super-fantastic-amazing as other people did.

BUT! I did like it. It was an okay book, and I can see why people are calling it addicting. There were times when I just couldn’t put the book down, and at those moments I thought to myself: “wow, I might actually really love this book.”

Then there were other moments. Moments when the cheese almost killed me, moments when I couldn’t stop myself from laughing, even though it wasn’t meant to be funny. I must say, I would have been so happy if Simone Elkeles had decided to drop the epilogue, because that was so incredibly cheesy that I….just no.

My biggest problem, though, was that I didn’t quite feel that “perfect chemistry” I was promised. I might be the only one, but to me, it isn’t enough if a character just tells me that she finds this dude attractive and that they have so-called perfect chemistry. I need to be shown, and not only by them making out on top of a motorcycle. I need more, and I just wasn’t convinced.

Overall, though, I still think Perfect Chemistry was a very entertaining book. It kept my attention, and there was barely a moment when I felt like putting it down. I’m not sure that I will continue on with the series, though. This was enough for me.

3.5/5 Moustaches

empty-facehappyempty-facehappyempty-facehappyempty-facehappyhalfempty-face

Comment

