Full Series Review: Parasol Protectorate

This review is spoiler-free. :)

Soulless (Parasol Protectorate, #1)Title: Soulless

Author: Gail Carriger

Length: 357 pages (Paperback)

Published: October 1st 2009

Series: Parasol Protectorate #1

Changeless (Parasol Protectorate, #2)

Title: Changeless

Author: Gail Carriger

Published: April 1st 2010

Length: 374 pages (Paperback)

Series: Parasol Protectorate #2

Blameless (Parasol Protectorate, #3)

Title: Blameless

Author: Gail Carriger

Published: September 1st 2010

Length: 376 pages (Paperback)

Series: Parasol Protectorate #3


Title: Heartless
Heartless (Parasol Protectorate, #4)

Author: Gail Carriger

Published: July 1st 2011

Length: 385 pages (Paperback)

Series: Parasol Protectorate #4

Timeless (Parasol Protectorate, #5)

Title: Timeless

Author: Gail Carriger

Published: March 1st 2012

Length: 386 pages (Paperback)

Series: Parasol Protectorate #5

Synopsis from Goodreads (Soulless):

First, she has no soul. Second, she’s a spinster whose father is both Italian and dead. Third, she was rudely attacked by a vampire, breaking all standards of social etiquette.Where to go from there? From bad to worse apparently, for Alexia accidentally kills the vampire – and then the appalling Lord Maccon (loud, messy, gorgeous, and werewolf) is sent by Queen Victoria to investigate.With unexpected vampires appearing and expected vampires disappearing, everyone seems to believe Alexia responsible. Can she figure out what is actually happening to London’s high society? Will her soulless ability to negate supernatural powers prove useful or just plain embarrassing? Finally, who is the real enemy, and do they have treacle tart?

Review:

It was about this time, one year ago, that I first set eyes on Soulless. At the moment, I didn’t know what I was getting myself into. I didn’t know how much it would intrigue me, how it would make me laugh, or how attached I would get to the characters. I didn’t know, and that’s what’s so incredible about books. You can read and read and read, but they still keep surprising you, over and over again.

This particular series is one of the most entertaining I have ever had the pleasure read, and it’s also one of those I didn’t expect to love until I read it. It’s not very often I hear people talk about Parasol Protectorate, but they totally should! And that’s why I will now give you 3 reasons why you should pick it up:

1. The hilarious writing.

Oh my god, the writing! These books are written with such charm, personality, and humour, and sets the tone of the story beautifully. I can’t really explain it properly, but it’s just so…..unexpected. Yes, unexpected is the word I would use. Ordinary (how ordinary it can get with a vampire calling people sugarplum) conversations and events, might suddenly take an unexpected turn, and end up being something extraordinary, and every time it happened, a surprised laugh managed to slip through my lips. Gail Carriger sure knows how to write funny books! They’re so sophisticated and silly at the same time, and I don’t know how it’s even possible.

2.  The crazy characters.

Throughout this story, you get to meet a pretty big amount of different characters, all with very original personalities. They have their own problems, background-stories, and goals, and what’s so amazing, is that they all managed to be important. Not a single one of them felt unnecessary, and I fell in love with all of them. As everything came together in the end, they all fit like a big, scandalous puzzle! The dynamic between the characters was also one of my favourite things. :)

3. The unique world

I found the world in these books to be very well-developed, and with  a quite different take on the supernatural. Everything felt so fresh and interesting, and I don’t think I have encountered anything like it before.

All this is what I thought made Parasol Protectorate special. The things that made it memorable.

I must admit that there were parts that felt a little bit slow (especially in the second and third book), but it’s all woth it in the end when everything come together. Plus, I cried as I read the last page, not because it was sad, but because I already missed all the characters I had gotten to know this past year, and that’s one of the biggest compliments I can give a book. I feel sentimental just writing this review, but lucky for me, fabulous miss Carriger still has many stories and adventures in store for us. ;)

To say the least, this is a lovely series. If you’re into steampunk, insanely entertaing characters, a clever plot, lethal parasols, and best of all, tea, I absolutely recommend it. It’s not for everyone, though, so if you read the first one and didn’t enjoy it in the slightest, you probably won’t like the rest.

Also, You should be prepared for some “adult content”, since it, after all, is an adult series, not YA.

Parasol Protectorate as a whole, will recieve…..

….4.5/5 Moustaches :D

empty-facehappyempty-facehappyempty-facehappyempty-facehappyempty-facehappyhalf

Quotes:

“Miss Tarabotti was not one of life’s milk-water misses–in fact, quite the opposite. Many a gentleman had likened his first meeting with her to downing a very strong cognac when one was expecting to imbibe fruit juice–that is to say, startling and apt to leave one with a distinct burning sensation.”

“Alexia,” she hissed to her friend, “there are knees positively everywhere. What do I do?”

“His eyes are peculiar. There is nothing in them, like an eclair without the cream filling. It’s wrong, lack of cream.”

“[She] lost her patience, a thing she was all too prone to misplacing.”

“Scotsmen, she had occasion to observe, often did have nice knees. Perhaps that was why they insisted upon kilts.” 

2 thoughts on “Full Series Review: Parasol Protectorate

Comment

