Mini Review: This Lullaby

This LullabyTitle: This Lullaby

Author: Sarah Dessen

Published:  May 27th 2002

Length: 345 pages (Hardcover)

Synopsis from Goodreads:

When it comes to relationships, Remy doesn’t mess around. After all, she’s learned all there is to know from her mother, who’s currently working on husband number five. But there’s something about Dexter that seems to defy all of Remy’s rules. He certainly doesn’t seem like Mr. Right. For some reason, however, Remy just can’t seem to shake him. Could it be that Remy’s starting to understand what those love songs are all about?

Review:

When I finish a book, I like to write the review immediately, before I lose the feeling, you know (which is why I often post my reviews in the middle of the night by the way). I also usually don’t want to start a new book before the review is written and posted, because seriously, my memory is pretty much crap.

This is why I choose to call this a “mini review”. With This Lullaby, I didn’t even have access to a computer when I finished it and, stupidly, forgot to write notes while reading. I have also read two books after and my mind is all messed up.

Sooo, I’m just going to, very briefly, tell you what I thought about this book.

I have read a few of Sarah Dessen’s books by now, and I have to say this is one of my least favourites. It might be because they are all, in some ways, pretty similar to each other, and that I’ve grown tired of reading about the troubled girl who meets some equally troubled boy, and then learns how to overcome said troubles, but I sincerely doubt it. I like that concept, even though it has been done many times before. I like the girl-meets-boy story, but I couldn’t really connect with this one.

I mean, I really enjoyed it at times, and the boy was really the kind of guy I would fall for immediately, but other moments I just wanted to get it over with so I could start a new book.

I think my main problem was Remy, the narrator. I just couldn’t relate to her, except for maybe her obsessions with cleanliness and order. Her character just didn’t make a particular big impression on me, and I don’t think this will be one of the stories I remember.

So overall, This Lullaby was okay, but nothing spectacular. A nice summer-read, but not much more than that. It didn’t make me feel anything and I didn’t wish for more when it was over.

3/5 Moustaches

empty-facehappyempty-facehappyempty-facehappyempty-faceempty-face

Quotes:

Oh, God,” I said. “No, it’s Dexter,” he replied, offering me his hand, which I ignored.”

“One word can change the entire world.”

“Whenever you made a choice, especially one you’d been resisting, it always affected everything else, some in big ways, like a tremor beneath your feet, others in so tiny a shift you hardly noticed a change at all.”

3 thoughts on “Mini Review: This Lullaby

  1. Sounds like you need a does of The Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay to renew your love of troubled girl meets troubled boy books! :-) That and Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry.

    • I have actually already read The Sea of tranquility and sadly I wasn’t that extremely fond of it, but it did make an impact ;). I’ve been thinking about reading Pushing the Limits for some time now :)

Comment

