Review: The Sea of Monsters

May contain spoilers if you have not read The Lightning Thief

The Sea of Monsters (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #2)Title: The Sea of Monsters

Author: Rick Riordan

Published:  April 1st 2006

Length: 279 pages (Hardcover)

Series: Percy Jackson and the Olympians #2

Synopsis from Goodreads: 

The heroic son of Poseidon makes an action-packed comeback in the second must-read installment of Rick Riordan’s amazing young readers series. Starring Percy Jackson, a “half blood” whose mother is human and whose father is the God of the Sea, Riordan’s series combines cliffhanger adventure and Greek mythology lessons that results in true page-turners that get better with each installment. In this episode, The Sea of Monsters, Percy sets out to retrieve the Golden Fleece before his summer camp is destroyed, surpassing the first book’s drama and setting the stage for more thrills to come.

Review:

In The Sea of Monsters, half-blood Percy Jackson, son of Poseidon, must head out on a quest to find the golden fleece, which is the only thing that can save the camp from being overrun by monsters (and we don’t want that, do we?). While he’s at it, Percy must also rescue Grover from a marriage with a cyclops before it’s too late. Yes, much is at stake here, and to help him on his journey, Percy has his wise girl Annabeth, of course, but also a new companion named Tyson. A companion that might be more than he appears…

I really liked this book and it is definitely a great sequel to The Lightning Thief. There were lots of action, humour, friendship and, of course, new monsters and gods from the Greek  mythology.

The story takes off almost a year after Percy prevented the third world war to break out, and he’s about to spend the last day at school before going to his favourite place on earth, Camp Half-blood. I’m actually kind of sad that it’s such a huge time gap between the books, because I don’t want to miss anything that happens in Percy’s life, but I understand why this is necessary. I’m still bummed, though…

Anyway, as I said, I really enjoyed this story, but I must say I liked The Lightning Thief a tiny teeny bit better. In my opinion, the beginning was a little bit slow and there were some things that I would have liked better explanations for, but I can’t tell you about said things because that would spoil it for you. Sorry.

I can also agree that there are many similarities between these books and Harry Potter, but I don’t have a problem with it, unlike some people. Sure, you can draw like a million parallels, but so what? They are both great, original stories that may resemble each other in some ways, but are completely different in others. So for the gods sake, don’t decide to not read this series because you think it’s a Harry Potter-rip off! It’s not.

Moving on :).

It was really nice to meet some new characters in this book (I love Tyson), and also to get to know some of the older ones better, even though I hate strongly dislike them…*cough*..Clarisse…*cough*. The amazing trio was..uhm..amazing as usual (can I say usual even though I’ve only read two books?), and I love how much they trust each other. I can’t wait to see where their friendship will lead in the future :).

So, awesome book! Read it, no excuses, off you go! I will go myself right now and continue to read The Titan’s Curse :D.

4.5/5 Moustaches!

empty-facehappyempty-facehappyempty-facehappyempty-facehappyempty-facehappyhalf

Quotes:

“We only came close to dying six or seven times, which I thought was pretty good.”

“Mythologically speaking, if there’s anything I hate worse than trios of old ladies, it’s bulls.

“You weren’t able to talk sense into him?”
Well, we kind of tried to kill each other in a duel to the death.”
I see. You tried the diplomatic approach.”

He look like an evil male model, showing off what the fashionable college-age villain was wearing to Harvard this year.”

Comment

