Review: Sapphire Blue

Might contain spoilers if you haven’t read Ruby Red.

Sapphire Blue (Book 2 Ruby Red Trilogy)

Title: Sapphire Blue

Original Title: Saphirblau (German)

Author: Kerstin Gier

First Published:  December 1st 2009

Length: 362 pages (Hardcover)

Series: Edelstein Trilogie #2

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Gwen’s life has been a rollercoaster since she discovered she was the Ruby, the final member of the secret time-traveling Circle of Twelve. In between searching through history for the other time-travelers and asking for a bit of their blood (gross!), she’s been trying to figure out what all the mysteries and prophecies surrounding the Circle really mean.

At least Gwen has plenty of help. Her best friend Lesley follows every lead diligently on the Internet. James the ghost teaches Gwen how to fit in at an eighteenth century party. And Xemerius, the gargoyle demon who has been following Gwen since he caught her kissing Gideon in a church, offers advice on everything. Oh, yes. And of course there is Gideon, the Diamond. One minute he’s very warm indeed; the next he’s freezing cold. Gwen’s not sure what’s going on there, but she’s pretty much destined to find out.

Review:

Since I read this book so shortly after Ruby Red, I kind of have a hard time distinguishing where one ends and the other starts. Therefore, my review of Ruby Red sort of applies to Sapphire Blue as well. Sooo, if you have read that review, you can probably guess my feelings towards Sapphire Blue :). Namely, I thought it was great.

Sapphire Blue begins right in the middle of Gwen and Gideon’s scandalous snogging-session (the one in the church, you know) we had the joy of experiencing at the end of Ruby Red. It’s also at this point, I might add, we first get to meet a new favourite character of mine; Xemerius the gargoyle. :D

“Xemerius,” said the gargoyle, beaming all over his face. “Please to meet you too.” He climbed up on the washbasin and looked deep into my eyes. “Really! Very pleased! Will you buy me a cat?”

That was a small sneak peak of the awesomeness that is Xemerius, but I think you should get to know him more on your own. Just hear me when I say that he was such a fun addition to the story, and even though he might come off as quite annoying at first, I’m quite sure you’ll love him just as much as I do…

So, speaking of the characters of this lovely book…Gwen and Gideon, huh. Can we talk about those two crazy kids for a moment? You see, I think they can be great together, and I really want them to travel time hand in hand forever, but in this book, Gideon ended up being the cause to why I found myself a bit disappointed in Gwen. He ran all over her and she just let him. We know he has some sort of legit reason behind his behaviour (he must have), but Gwen doesn’t know that and she just forgave him every time he was being an asshole. She kept  throwing around big words such as love, after one week  I may point out, and I just wanted to shake some sense into her. I didn’t expect her to take any bullshit, and I really hope she pulls herself together in the next book.

We all have flaws, though, and they still were very interesting and amazing characters. I would probably not be able to stand Gideon in real life, but that’s what I think is so great about Kerstin Gier’s writing-skills. He might not be my dream guy, but he’s certainly right for Gwen, and how she feels affected me as a reader. I just love when that happens.

This book wasn’t just about Gwen’s love life, though. There were also lots of revelations, more confusion, kissing, trust issues, frustration, dancing, and schemes, and I really think you should pick up Sapphire Blue and experience it all for yourself ;)

If you want to read more about what I thought about these books, check out this review.

I can’t wait until Emerald Green comes out! God, why can’t I understand German?!? Dammit four years of French!

4/5 Moustaches

empty-facehappyempty-facehappyempty-facehappyempty-facehappyempty-face

Other Covers:

Saphirblau (Edelstein Trilogie, #2)

The original German cover

Safirblå (Edelstein Trilogie, #2)

The Swedish cover

Sapphire Blue (The Ruby Red Trilogy, #2)

The paperback cover

Comment

