Reading Update: May

Hey there :)

Well, since May has soon reached it’s end, I am here before you with a very poor excuse of a reading update. I knew it would be bad this month, but I could never dream I would only read three books. What a disappointment….

The Hound of the BaskervillesRuby Red (Ruby Red Trilogy, #1)Sapphire Blue (Book 2 Ruby Red Trilogy)

Novels: 3

Novellas: 4

Total: ca. 1057 pages

Not much to cheer for, right?

One good thing, though; I have finally read some Sherlock Holmes! :D It was for a school assignment, I admit, but still :). In my copy of The Hound of the Baskervilles they had also included A Scandal in Bohemia, The Five Orange Pips, The Adventure of the Greek Interpreter and The Final Problem, so I have read those as well :). You won’t be seeing a review on any of these….at least not yet, but I really liked them, that I can assure you ;).

As you might guess, I have spent May on the rock bottom of a reading slump. You see, after finishing The Hound of the Baskervilles, I picked up Seraphina…and spent three weeks pushing myself through one third of it. I don’t say it’s a bad book (I haven’t finished it yet after all), but somehow I just couldn’t get into it. It didn’t feel fun to read, but for so long I refused to put it down and read another book. Finally, last sunday, I decided to give up and read Ruby Red instead. I found it so great that I just breezed through it and then continued with Sapphire Blue. Reading became awesome again.

So, the point of this is that I think it’s important to realise when it’s time to put a book aside. The time isn’t always right and when it isn’t, both you and the book will suffer. Wait a while and then give it another try, but don’t push yourself so hard that it feels like it’s just something you have to do. Reading slumps suck!

Seraphina will for now stay on the sidelines and wait until I’m ready to take it on again. I just fear it will become my new Pandemonium…

Anyway, school is basically over and summer is here :D. There will be lots of time for reading and hopefully I will have much more books to talk about next month ;).

Have a great day! :D

Comment

