Review: The Art of Wishing

The Art of Wishing

Title: The Art of Wishing

Author: Lindsay Ribar

Publication Date: March 21st 2013

Series: The Art of Wishing #1

Length: 314 pages (Hardcover)

Synopsis from Goodreads:

He can grant her wishes, but only she can save his life.

Margo McKenna has a plan for just about everything, from landing the lead in her high school play to getting into a good college. So when she finds herself in possession of a genie’s ring and the chance to make three wishes, she doesn’t know what to do. Why should she put her life into someone else’s hands?

But Oliver is more than just a genie — he’s also a sophomore at Margo’s high school, and he’s on the run from a murderer. As he and Margo grow closer, she discovers that it will take more than three wishes to save him.

A whole lot more.

Review:

First of all, look at that cover! It’s not what I usually like, but it fits perfectly for this book. I mean, it’s lovely, cute, and completely magical! I really like the sky and the bright red guitar. Just super adorable :).

When it comes to the book, The Art of Wishing took me by surprise. I wanted to read a quick, funny, and easy book, and this one seemed to fit the bill. I got what I wanted, but did not expect any more than that. I certainly did not expect to stay up until 3:30 am, whispering to myself: “just one more chapter”, with the voice of Gollum, but that’s exactly what happened (I cursed myself yesterday at school when my head weighed like a thousand elephants…but it was so worth it!).

The Art of Wishing is about 18-year-old Margo, who one day finds a silver ring in the girls’ bathroom at school. The moment she picks up this peculiar ring, a genie bursts into the room. But he doesn’t look a bit like the genie from Aladdin. Instead, he looks like a normal teenage boy. A boy called Oliver.

Of course, Margo refuses to believe this sophomore kid has even an ounce of magic…

“So…you’re trying to tell me this is a magic ring.” Annoyance darkening his expression, he looked up at me again through unruly bangs. “No, I’m trying to tell you that its’s my magic ring, and that I want it back.”

Very soon though, she realises that what he says is true, that she has three unwanted wishes, and that her otherwise planned out life is about to get completely turned upside down.

Genies, huh? :D I don’t think I have ever read a book about genies before, and Ribar’s version of the original myth was so much fun. It was something new and exciting, and I do like exciting ;). So A+ for amazing concept.

When it comes to the pace, this book succeded big time. The story had such a great flow and I just couldn’t put it down. The chapters weren’t too short, nor too long, I was never, ever bored and it happened interesting things all the time.

Both Margo and Oliver were so witty and funny that I found myself giggling in the middle of the night at all the things they said to each other. I was barely able to stifle my laughter.

In the beginning of the book, Margo wasn’t a very talkative person. At least not with people other than her best friend. Every time someone tried to joke with her, she just couldn’t find the right words, or cared enough to say something funny back, which is something I can relate to by the way. BUT, with Oliver, all the witty remarks just came naturally, and I loved it! I liked Margo a great deal as a character, and she didn’t make any face palm-decisions, nor reacted much differently than I would have in her situation(except for one moment of serious overreaction, but I forgave her pretty quickly for that). Wohoo! A perfectly sane character!

Oliver was so, so sweet and I had a big, silly smile every time he showed up. I loved that he could be shy and awkward one moment, and then really confident the next. His whole story was so interesting.

In The Art of Wishing, Lindsay Ribar makes fun of a lot of today’s YA fiction, but in a silly, harmless and hilarious way :). Even though I liked it a lot, I have a feeling some of the jokes might not be as funny in a couple of years. But for now, awesome ;).

“Oh god. I’m one of those girls.” “What girls?” he asked, perplexed. “Those girls. The ones in all those books and TV shows. Some dumb high school girl falls in love with some supernatural guy, and he’s all, ‘Behold, I am five million years old!’ and she’s all, ‘Oh my god, how can you ever love pathetic little me!’ and he’s like, ‘Because of destiny!’ or whatever. It’s just so…ew. You know?”

Even though this was a very funny book, it also had its serious parts. Margo isn’t really happy at home with her parents and she feels like no one actually knows her. Plus, I sat there, happily and unknowingly reading…when BAM! Someone had a knife in their leg. ;)

To say the least, I really liked this book a lot. I do have a few remarks that are a tiny bit negative though.

  • It had it’s cheesy moments with a teeeeeny bit of instalove. I was so happy about everything else that I barely noticed it though, but it was there nonetheless.
  • Some of the plot twists were pretty obvious, and one especially, I guessed too early for my taste.
  • I’m not completely content with the way Ribar decided to end the book. I would have wanted that to happen a bit later in the series (I know! It’s going to be a series :D. I didn’t know that at first.).

And that’s about it :).

If you’re looking for a fun, quick and original book with a lot of wit, definitely pick up The Art of Wishing. I can almost guarantee you won’t be sorry ;).

I can’t wait for The Rules of Remembering, the second book in the series! It won’t be out until 2014 though :(.

4.5/5 Moustaches

empty-facehappyempty-facehappyempty-facehappyempty-facehappyempty-facehappyhalf

Some Quotes All For You:

“Wait. Did you just say three things?” He nodded slowly, watching me begin to understand. “Are you…?” But I couldn’t quite bring myself to say the word. It was too impossible – and I would feel too stupid if he told me I was wrong. “I’m a genie.” Oliver’s face shone with pride. “Which means I have the power to grant you three wishes. Now, wheree are my waffles?”

“Right,” I murmured. “So, genies are real. You are a genie. I get three wishes. Okay. What else? Do you live in a bottle?” “No,” he said, sounding almost offended. “I live in an apartment.” “Oh. Sorry.”

“Or if someone was up there waiting to hand me a crown and tell me I was the long-lost Princess of Genovia.”

“I can see a million things you want from me, just like the million things I want from you. Some of them are wonderful. Some are awful. Some contradict each other, and some don’t make any sense at all. But none of those things matter, not really. What matters is what you do about them.”

Comment

