Day 09 – A Book You Thought You Wouldn’t Like But Ended Up Loving

Hey y’all :)

This is a bit more fun :D.

According to me, the feeling of loving a book you didn’t expect much from, is one of the best feelings in the world :D. It doesn’t happen very often, but every time it does, it reminds me that there is a thousand different things out there, waiting for me to try them out. :) Not just books, but movies, music and other experiences. :) I should just get out there with an open mind and give it a try ;).

These two books I’m going to talk about are kind of similar, and I didn’t expect to like either one of them that much….until I completely fell in love with their characters and plots.

First..

the Knife of Never Letting Go, by Patrick Ness

The Knife of Never Letting Go (Chaos Walking, #1)

I have previously mentioned it here.

This book is the first in a trilogy called Chaos Walking. It’s about a 12 year old boy, Todd, that lives on a planet called “The New World”.

Humans moved to the New World a couple of years before Todd was born, and apparently, there was a virus that slowly killed all the women and gave the men the ability to hear the thoughts of each other, and the animals.

Todd is the only boy left in his town, since you become a man on your 13th birthday. His big day is approaching, but things don’t plan out as he thought. As Todd’s world crumbles around him, he must decide what is truth, and what is lie…

I actually suggest you don’t read the description on Goodreads, since it kind of reveals a lot. Just borrow it at the libary and hopefully you will enjoy it :).

I picked this up a couple of summers ago at the library. I was going to spend a week at our summer-house, which meant I needed a bunch of books to entertain myself with :). I just picked out books randomly and suddenly, I held the Knife of Never Letting Go in my hands. I had never heard of it, and I almost put it back. The title in swedish is roughly translated to: “the silence in the noise” (which I don’t like), and at first, I wasn’t that fond of the cover:

Tystnaden i bruset

But then I gave it a third chance to impress me, and read the description. It sounded interesting enough for me to hold on to it and bring it with me. During that week, I read every other book I had before picking this up and actually read it, but when I did, I couldn’t put it back down again ;).

What I love about this book, is something that many other people hate about it: The Language. I think the language is amazingly beautiful and unique, but I understand why some doesn’t like it. The thing Patrick Ness did, is that he spelled some words wrong to fit the voice of our protagonist Todd.

Here’s an example from the book:

“The first thing you find out when yer dog learns to talk is that dogs don’t got nothing much to say.
About anything.”

I love it.

Another thing I like, is obviously the characters. I can’t enjoy a book, if I don’t like the characters at all, so it’s an important part for me. Todd is far from perfect, but he still has very likeable traits, and he undergoes some major character developments (yay!).

The Chaos Walking trilogy is special, interesting, heartbreaking and amazing, so if you enjoy those things, check it out :D.

Blood Red Road, by Moira Young

Blood Red Road (Dust Lands, #1)

I have mentioned this one here.

Blood Red Road is also part of a series, but this one is called Dust Lands :). It’s about Saba, a girl who has lived the first 18 years of her life basically in the desert, with her father, little sister and beloved twin brother Lugh. One day everything changes and Saba has to leave her old life behind to search for her kidnapped brother. She has to face a lot of dangers and the hardest part of all, she has to learn how to trust other people.

Once again, these stories are kind of similar, but still not the same. Both Todd and Saba have to go on a journey they didn’t expect, they both go through some major character developements and most of all, both books are written in a way that isn’t that ordinary. Moira Young, like Patrick Ness. misspelled a couple of words to match the voice of her protagonist.

“I never knew that missin somebody could hurt, I says. But it does. Deep inside. Like it’s in my bones. We ain’t never bin apart till now. Never. I dunno how to be without him. It’s like… I ain’t nuthin.”

It’s different from the usual, and still different from the voice of Todd. I honestly don’t know how either Young or Ness have achieved this, but bravo.

I just have to add, while this is refreshing and great, I wouldn’t want every novel to be like this. It’s kind of hard to read sometimes for example.

Honestly, I would never ever have read this book, if it weren’t for some of the booktubers I follow (for example TheArtsygal12). After hearing so many great things about it, I finally decided to give it a try. Then again, when I found it at the library, I almost put it back down immediately. Mainly because I wasn’t that impressed by the description on the back, but also because the cover looked like this:

Blodröd väg

I really thought the whole book was going to be about a girl wandering around in the desert, but it was so, so much more. It had great action, interesting characters, and a good pace that kept me reading for hours straight :).

A lovely, lovely surprise :D.

So there you have the story about two books I didn’t think I would enjoy, but gave a chance anyway. I hope you will do the same, but I totally understand if they weren’t your kind of books :).

Please tell me what you think about them, or another book you didn’t think you would enjoy, in the comments :).

Bye!

4 thoughts on “Day 09 – A Book You Thought You Wouldn’t Like But Ended Up Loving

  1. I keep seeing Blood red road everywhere, maybe I should give it a try. The synopsis didn’t sound too interesting but maybe I might like it too…

Comment

