Day 01 – Best Book You Read Last Year

Oh my, this was hard. I didn’t realize how many amazing books I read last year :O.

So that’s why I have decided to cheat ;)

Here are my top 3 favourite books read 2012 (not in order)

Anna and the French Kiss, by Stephanie Perkins

Anna and the French Kiss

So, I told you about this book in this post so you already know what I thought about it, but to summarize, Anna and the french kiss is about a girl called Anna, who gets sent to Paris, School of Americans in Paris (SOAP), by her idiot father. She’s not particularly happy about this…not at first.

So, I know this book seems really cheesy, that’s what I thought at first, but you should really, really pick it up. It’s funny, sweet, sad, romantic and have a great pace. Stephanie Perkins is an amazing writer and if you also read the sequel, Lola and the boy next door. you will realize she’s a master of coming up with dreamy male characters ;).

This is definitely one of my favourite contemporary novels ever :).

The Fault in Our Stars, by John Green

The Fault in Our Stars I have written about this book here.

This is the first and so far only book I have read by John Green, but I will definitely try out more of his amazing novels.

The Fault in Our Stars contains love, friendship, joy, sorrow and some amazing characters. What more can you ask for?

It’s about this girl called Hazel, who is dying of cancer. Her mom thinks she’s depressed and therefore have to get out and meet people in the same situation as her. The answer to this is a cancer support group in the cellar of a church, were the group leader can’t stop talking about his balls (read and find out ;D). Hazel is not amused to say the least. Then, one day a new boy arrives  to the meeting. A boy who will change Hazel’s perspective on life.

I was a bit hesitant when I first heard about this, but since I heard such amazing things about it, I decided to give it a try. As you see, I was NOT dissappointed :).

Divergent, by Veronica Roth

Divergent (Divergent, #1)When I picked this one up, I actually had no idea what it was about. I had just heard such amazing things about it. Everywhere on Goodreads, I saw people praise this thing called “Divergent” so I made sure to put my hands on it. Sadly I started reading it  in the middle of the week, which meant I had to walk around during the day, thinking about it but not being able to read it. :(

I think I read both Divergent and Insurgent (the sequel) in like two and a half day and during that time, my homework was not first priority ;).

Divergent is a dystopian novel and takes place in future Chicago, I guess. The society is divided into five different factions. Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), Erudite (the ones who value knowledge) and Candor (the honest). Each group is obsessed with their chosen trait and believe that’s going to make the world a better place.

When a teenager turns 16 she or he has to choose a faction. Most stay in their birthfactions (if you switch you can’t be with your family), but some transfers to a new one.

Our protagonist Beatrice Prior is about the make the choice that will change her life forever. Should she stay in Abnegation with her family and keep trying to be selfless, or should she do the brave thing and choose Dauntless?

Many people compare this series to the hungergames, which is understandable but hardly the thruth. Sure, they are both dystopians with strong female protagonists, but that’s basically it. So don’t decide not to read it because you think it’s a wannabe hungergames, it’s absolutely stunning!

So that’s it :). There are a lot of books that I read last year that were almost equally amazing as these three, but I can’t write about all of them :( *sigh*.

Well if you haven’t read these, definitely do!

Laters ;)

Comment

