It’s Been Long Since Last…

Hello there :)

Yes, it’s been long since I last blogged, but to my defense, school has been completely crazy. I wasn’t sure whether or not I should keep this blog, but have now decided I would really like to give it a second chance. So here I am! :)

The last couple of weeks, I have had time to read some books, so I thought I would post the very short and quick reviews I have written on goodreads. Enjoy :)

I wrote these like, literally seconds after I finished the books, so some might be a bit emotional…you have been warned

Slammed, by Colleen Hoover

Slammed (Slammed, #1)

I don’t know if it’s because I am extra emotional from the tragic end of Merlin, but this book had me laughing and crying like it was me myself living it.

I had my doubts at first, but boy was I soon hooked on the characters, the plot, the heartbreak and don’t forget all the slamming!

I was totally swooned by this book and I can’t wait until I get my hands on the second in the series. I only fear for the things that will happen to Lake, Will, Caulder and Kel….

There is one negative thing about this book though….I feel like gagging at the use of “babe”. It can’t just be me?

“I got schooled this year
by
a
boy.

A boy that I’m seriously, deeply, madly, incredibly, and undeniably in love with.
And he taught me the most important thing of all

To put the emphasis
On life .”

empty-facehappyempty-facehappyempty-facehappyempty-facehappyempty-facehappyhalf

Epic Fail, by Claire LaZebnik

Epic Fail

When I started this book I didn’t realise it was a retelling of Pride and Prejudice until a couple of chapters in, but when I did, I found myself not enjoying it as much. I guess I’m not a fan of this kind of retellings, even though I really really like some, like Cinder :).

Anyway, after I had made the connection, some parts of the plot became far to predictable and forced for my taste. Still it had it’s sweet and funny moments so overall, it was an ok, easy, and fast read. Not something I would recommend though…

 

 

 

empty-facehappyempty-facehappyempty-facehappyhalfempty-faceempty-face

Hopeless, by Colleen Hoover

Hopeless (Hopeless, #1)

I liked this book, but even though it for the most part was funny, sweet, romantic and heartbreaking with some serious plottwists, some parts still annoyed me. I can’t really put my finger on exactly what, though…

Plus, the use of “baby” still makes me want to kill someone.

 

 

 

 

 

empty-facehappyempty-facehappyempty-facehappyempty-facehappyhalfempty-face

Warm Bodies, by Isaac Marion

Warm Bodies (Warm Bodies #1)

Warm bodies is a zombiebook, told from the zombie himself.

R, who doesn’t remember the rest of his name, lives a pretty normal zombielife with his fellow zombiefriends. He eats brains, listens to Frank Sinatra and grunts. Ah, the good life.
That is, until meets Julie, a girl he doesn’t eat. Things are definitely about to change…

This novel was a pretty fast book for me to read, and kept surprising me page after page. Nothing was exactly like I expected it to be and some scenes left me laughing. It was different, fun, bloody and sweet.

Still, I feel like the author could have worked more on it since some part were a bit unsatisfying, especially the end. I don’t know if I missed something, but everything that had been built up just went poof and became a big nothing.

This is one of those rare occasions were I actually think the movie will be better than the book, and belive me when I tell you that doesn’t happen often.

 

empty-facehappyempty-facehappyempty-facehappyempty-facehappyempty-face

Fang Girl, by Helen Keeble

Fang Girl

Fang girl was a fun, quick read with it’s own hilarious twists on the usual vampire story. I LOVED the vampire OCD and laughed at the fact that you could defeat thousand year old vampires with unorganized documents and paperclips :D.

So yeah, it was funny, but that is pretty much all it was. I will probably not remember it or tell other people to read it, since it didn’t leave me with any feelings at all in the end. It was just over, no big deal.

 

 

 

empty-facehappyempty-facehappyempty-facehappyempty-faceempty-face

The Scorpio Races, by Maggie Stiefvater

The Scorpio Races

Honestly, this book was so damn amazing, I have trouble finding words, and when I don’t know what to say, it always helps to write lists ;)

Here are some of the things I LOVED about this book:

+It was BEAUTIFUL. I really like the way Maggie Stiefvater writes her stories. They are poetic without being too poetic, if you know what I mean :)

+The characters were great! I love when characters aren’t these perfect super-likeable people. Sean and Puck had flaws, which made them interesting and unpredictable.

+The mythical plot <3. The story about capaill uisce was absolutely gorgeous.

+The blood. Yeah, it might sound weird, but I love it when a book contains blood, death and violence. I promise I’m not a psycopath.

+Both Sean’s and Puck’s POV. It was done very well and kept the story going in an amazing pace.

+The ending, which wasn’t predictable. I do not like predictable.

Things I didn’t like:

-The ending. Okay I can’t really say I didn’t like the ending because I loved it, but I feel like I wanted more..like Maggie forgot to write the last chapter somehow. I sure hope she writes a sequel….or a short story at least :)

empty-facehappyempty-facehappyempty-facehappyempty-facehappyempty-facehappy

The Indigo Spell, by Richelle Mead

The Indigo Spell (Bloodlines, #3)So, I am a bit conflicted about this. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVED IT. But still, here are some things that kind of annoyed me:

– The typos and mistakes. Yes, I know these things happen and it’s hard to make everything perfect, but some things made me stop and frown. For example, one time the book told me that Tatiana was Christians great aunt. Another time it told me Angelines hair was red and I’m pretty sure it was blonde in the last book. So this could have been better.

– Some parts were kind of obvious. I realized what was going on with Angeline WAY before Sydney and the rest of them figured it out.

That’s pretty much it :).

Now to the absolutely great and stunning parts. I am in love with Sydrian and most of their scenes were adorable, sweet, amazing and swoon-worthy! The ending took me by surprise, but didn’t leave me with the same feelings I had after Shadow Kissed…thank GOD ;D

I would have loved to get more Lissa, Christian, Rose and Dimitri, but I understand that this story isn’t about them. :)

Even though it contained some parts that weren’t perfect, I just can’t give it any less than five stars! Maybe my mind is clouded from all the Sydrian, but that’s the way it is ;D.

I can’t wait until I get my hands on The Fiery Heart! I need it now!!!

Also, Hopper the demon dragon was hilarious!!

empty-facehappyempty-facehappyempty-facehappyempty-facehappyempty-facehappy

Beautiful Darkness, by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

Beautiful Darkness (Caster Chronicles, #2)

I am very conflicted about my rating for this book. :/ I really liked some parts, and some parts less.

Most of the things that happens are really confusing, and I sure hope I get an amazing explanation for all of it soon. Right now, everything is all over the place.

Still, I love Ethan, Lena and their relationship. Ridley was badass, Link was funny and Amma was sassy.

I’m curious about were this story is going and I love the whole plot and setting, but if Beautiful Chaos doesn’t give me something more, I am not sure it will recieve four stars.

I think it made seem like I don’t like this book, but I truly, truly liked it! I gave it four stars after all ;)

Update

So yeah….I considered it for a while and decided Beautiful Darkness didn’t deserve four stars from me. I will still read the third one though.

empty-facehappyempty-facehappyempty-facehappyempty-faceempty-face

Unspoken, by Sarah Rees Brennan

Unspoken (The Lynburn Legacy, #1)

This was so amazing, I am not sure where to start..
I absolutely loved this book even though it was completely crazy and bizarre…maybe just because of its bizarreness :). Every character, no matter how small, was amazing and witty. They made me laugh every single page.

Kami’s relationships with the rest of the characters were really fun to read about and, of course, I particularly adored the relationship between her and Jared. I loved how well they knew one another and felt protective of each other. Plus, I really liked how Kami didn’t think they were so called soul mates simply because they shared a mystic bond ;). That doesn’t mean I don’t want them to live happily ever after though. ;)

Sometimes I think they made dumb decisions, but those were just part of their personalities, which to me is very positive. :) Sometimes I did want to slap someone, though, but there’s honestly a lot of books that bring me that impulse ;).

I can understand why some people don’t like this book. It’s a bit weird and none of the characters ever react like a normal, sane person would, but for me this was really fresh and new.
But the ending….that ending….
Have fun reading it ;)
Ps: the cover is AMAZING!

empty-facehappyempty-facehappyempty-facehappyempty-facehappyempty-facehappy

Blood Red Road, by Moira Young

Blood Red Road (Dust Lands, #1)

As you might know, I’m a big, BIG fan of the Chaos Walking-series by Patrick Ness, much thanks to the writing style, so naturally, I couldn’t help loving this one as well ;D.

I know there are a lot of people who don’t enjoy the way Ness and Young have chosen to write their books, but I think it’s really charming, refreshing and memorable. It gives the book a very uniqe voice :)

The things I liked the most about the book, except for the writing-style, were the characters :). Saba is so tough, ungrateful and unfriendly in the start, which some people probably didn’t like, but I thought was fun. It’s great to see her evolve and become a better person throughout the story. What’s also great is that it happens in a natural pace. She doesn’t just wake up one morning and decide to be a better person. She has to struggle a little bit ;).

The other characters were amazing too. Jack, Emmi, Ike, Nero and Lugh especially :). I didn’t think I would like Emmi since she was in the way all the time, but she really grew on me.

Blood red road was the kind of book I just couldn’t put down. The pacing was great, the action was awesome (BLOOD) and the relationships between the characters were interesting. I really cared about all of them. By the way, I need to know DeMalo’s deal! Who is he?!?

There were some thing’s that didn’t feel realistic though. Like the fact that Saba was so unbelievably good at all sorts of fighting. But I don’t know, she probably had a LOT of freetime the first 18 years of her life ;)

So yeah, I really liked it :)

empty-facehappyempty-facehappyempty-facehappyempty-facehappyempty-facehappyhalf

Rebel Heart, by Moira Young

Rebel Heart (Dust Lands, #2)I have decided to stop giving books more stars than they are worth simply because I loved the previous books. Rebel heart was good, it really was, but not as good as Blood Red Road. I’m kind of dissappointed.

First of all, am I the only one who felt like almost every character and their relationships were completely ruined in this book? Okay, not everyone, but close to it.

Lugh was whiny, mean and acted crazy all the time. He was jealous, didn’t trust Saba, thought he was in charge of the whole world and was spiteful every time Saba was wrong about something. Also, he blamed Saba for EVERYTHING, even though she told him not to follow her. I just didn’t find a single likeable thing about him…

Saba did some things that were totally out of character and made some stupid, stupid decisions, but some of them were understandable, at least, and I still really like her as a protagonist. I like that she’s so kick-ass and strong. She is really caring when it comes to the people she loves and I love how she has forgiven Emmi for their mothers death and started to regard her as her sister.

DeMalo was a crazy person, and I think it’s pretty obvious what’s going to happen..

And why,WHY?!? did you have to seperate Saba and Jack for so long, Moira Young?!? Jack is my favourite character and he was barely in this book at all. At first I thought there was going to be both their POVs, but I was wrong :(. I kept reading because I thought he would show up, but when he hadn’t showed his face for like the first 400 pages, the book kind of lost it’s appeal and I caught myself skimming some parts.

Now to the good things :). Some scenes took me by surprise, some scenes I felt my heart pound like crazy, and some scenes I really feared for the characters I have actually come to really care about. The world Young have built is amazing and different from the others I have read about. It’s interesting and exciting. I can’t wait for the third book. I just hope it won’t dissappoint me!

Once again I feel like I trashed this book more than it deserved. I’m just really frustrated right now.

empty-facehappyempty-facehappyempty-facehappyempty-faceempty-face

This one I actually finished only a couple of hours ago :)

So, this was all the books I have reviewed since I last blogged. I have read plenty more, but not reviewed them, so lets see if I perhaps do that sometime in the future :)

Have a nice life and read, read, read! :D

Comment

